91X, 1987 & ME

XXX-logo

A watershed year for alt rock radio thanks to DMode, Cure and Smiss all releasing big albums. If I had to pick a fave, it'd have to be "The Vanishing Girl". Remember "My Boyfriend"?  That's why it's my least fave on this countdown.

A watershed year for alt rock radio thanks to DMode, Cure and Smiss all releasing big albums. If I had to pick a fave, it’d have to be “The Vanishing Girl”. Remember “My Boyfriend”? That’s why it’s my least fave on this countdown.

Ace jazz guitarist Greg Camphuis at my sister's bat mitzvah reception at the Catamaran Hotel shortly before finding and stealing a gavel in a podium upstairs in an empty ballroom.  Hoodlums, I tell ya.

Me and ace jazz guitarist Greg Camphuis at my sister’s bat mitzvah reception at the Catamaran Hotel shortly before finding and stealing a gavel in a podium upstairs in an empty ballroom. Hoodlums, I tell ya.

1987. Tenth grade rolled on. I settled in to my new neighborhood finally and had plenty of friends in every social circle from jocks to nerds to punks, thanks, no doubt, to my painfully neutral clothing and hairstyle choices. Parties started to become a regular weekend occurance and everyone was drinking except for me.  As a September baby, I was young for my grade so my friends couldn’t wait for me to turn sixteen so I could drive their drunk asses around.  Joy.  As a result, I was happy to stay home with a movie or late night television more often than most folks.

Whoa dude. To be young and a little scared watching locals get a little too into their first slam dance exposure. Saw a rubia get taken down and her top ripped off of her. Ok, maybe a lot scared....Apparently, the band/staff afterparty resembled Caligula

Whoa dude. To be young and a little scared watching locals get a little too into their first slam dance exposure. Saw a rubia get taken down and her top ripped off of her. Ok, maybe a lot scared….Apparently, the band/staff afterparty resembled Caligula

Listening to 91X seemed to quench my musical fascination.  I didn’t go to many shows or buy a lot of records yet but I was completely obsessed with all things pop culture. I gobbled up whatever music magazines I could get and would beg my friends to let me come over and watch MTV’s 120 Minutes on Sunday nights. This would’ve been a great time to pick up a guitar and play, like some of my friends were starting to do. My parents were encouraging, getting me lessons and renting me an electric guitar a couple of years before but I just didn’t have the discipline for it at that age. I figured out Sex Pistols basslines on one string for a month or two and we returned the guitar.

A week before I turned 16. I never did get the San Diego Reader ad for this back when I was obsessively keeping a scrapbook. Thanks, online archives! That whole page is quite the 1987 time capsule (below with scrapbook) Previously posted….At this legendary '87 show, Peter Hook came out for an encore and silenced an arena by screaming that someone up front needed to sit down and not move for the rest of the show. AWK-ward. Echo came on after and were amazing.

A week before I turned 16. I never did get the San Diego Reader ad for this back when I was obsessively keeping a scrapbook. Thanks, online archives! At this legendary ’87 show, Peter Hook came out for an encore and silenced an arena by screaming that someone up front needed to sit down and not move for the rest of the show. AWK-ward. Echo came on after and were amazing.

This might’ve been the year that my friend Dan and I started to predict what songs would be in the countdown.  I don’t remember what we did later that night but I do remember another friend actually ended up in his bedroom with a girl at midnight. When “Just Like Heaven” came on 91X as the #1 song, she was surprised that she’d never heard of it.  A HUGE “Boys Don’t Cry” loomed over them.  I swore I’d only ever date someone who liked good music, as if that is what had been preventing me from having a girlfriend.

I absolutely stand by these.....except for the blatant U2 ripoff.

Ballot never sent, I absolutely stand by these…..except for the blatant U2 ripoff.

BACK TO THE MAIN XXX PAGE
XXX-logo

One thought on “91X, 1987 & ME

  1. Pingback: XXX: Thirty Years of 91X Year End Countdowns becomes The Top 888 Modern Rock Acts of All-Time | "Yer doin' great." (a muzak clickclack)

Leave a Reply

