An open letter to the couple that asked us to sit down

I recently had Myspace send me my old blogs, just to retrieve this one (the only one worth mentioning).  I remember it being the most liked thing I’d ever written at the time. I sent this to the Los Angeles Times and the LA Weekly on September 21, 2007.  I’m not sure if they published it.

Dear Sir and Madam,

I am so sorry that a giggling, smiling four year old and myself were blocking your view while you ate your dinner and drank wine in your boxed seat at the Hollywood Bowl last night.  I thought that when my girlfriend bought me tickets for my birthday and we drove with her daughter from San Diego that the price included my right to stand and/or dance in said purchased space.  It was also my understanding that LCD Soundsystem’s music encourages movement, possibly even inspiring people to rise out of their chair.  It was unfair of me to think that you might not be a huge LCD fan just because you looked like you were in your late 50’s and would be content to simply watch two huge video screens which we weren’t blocking.  Had you been sitting directly behind me, I might’ve been more sympathetic but two rows of chairs and a walkway separated us, which is a direct insult to my waistline and dancing skills.  I’m sorry you didn’t appreciate my offer to sit down if you could name one LCD song and I hope you didn’t think less of us when I denied your request to stop dancing with references to the 1984 film Footloose.  I thought that the band you paid to see would maybe want as many people to dance as possible but since you hissed at how incosiderate we were in between songs, you obviously felt that your right to relax at a rock show was more important.  You had every right to get a security guard to ask us to sit down.  I’m sorry that it didn’t work.  I hope you enjoyed the show anyways, especially when 17,000 people all stood up to block your view of the Arcade Fire.

Sincerely,
Adam Gimbel
down in front

 

Leave a Reply

