THE ABC’S OF ROCK

ABC-ROCK-banner STRAIGHT A’S 
WAY TO B

C IS FOR COOKIE
A few good posts
D IS FOR DOOKIE
Posts part 1part 2part 3
THE GREATEST OF E’S Posts part 1, part 2

#1 FAVE ACTS BY LETTER
ME
Apples In Stereo, the Beatles, the Clash, Devo
ALL Y’ALL
American Music Club/Apples In Stereo (tie), the Beatles, the Clash, Devo

#1 FAVE TUNES BY LETTER
ME
Adorable-Breathless
Bee Gees-Spicks and Specks
Colourfield, The-Pushing Up The Daisies
Dukes Of Stratosphear-The Vanishing Girl
Eno, Brian-Needle Of The Camel’s Eye

(Adorable not on Spotify)

INITIAL-FRIENDLY CONTEST WINNERS
Ambluance LTD-Straight A’s (A.J. LaRue)
Buggaloos theme (Chris Braun)
Costello, Elvis-Lipstick Vogue (Christopher Casugas)
Dump-Secret Blood (Dan Townsend)

(Buggaloos theme not on Spotify)

THE SHOWS Cover Me Badd’s alphabetically themed shows

My obsession with alphabetizing stuff started as a youth when I methodically put my baseball cards in alphabetical order by team.  I can still rattle off the 26 teams in order and even did so in Rookie Card’s traffic anthem “Got No Time (For Expansion Teams)”. No mp3 link available yet (drop me a note and I’ll send it to you) but you can watch us working it into an entry for a San Diego Padres themesong contest here: ”All I Want Is Padres Baseball”.  I’m not sure I started alphabetizing my music when I had cassettes and LP’s but I distinctly remember alphabetizing my first three compact discs when my family first bought a cd player.  Even more ridiculous was the fact that two of them were Beatles albums, which I put in chronological order.  So it begins…

Thanks to a couple of jobs at record stores and music biz sweatshops, I had a good little collection going in college and it made practical sense to alphabetize them just to find anything. I hate to use the word “collection” though because I’ve never been remotely interested in the collectability of music.  I don’t care how much it’s worth.  I just want to hear it.  Yes, alphabetical by artist and chronological within.  Solo singers by last names, not first, like they are in ALL record stores, iTunes be damned, though I did have a girlfriend who would alphabetize certain singers by their first name if she usually referred to them ONLY by their first name.  In tribute, that’s why Ella Fitzgerald is in my E’s, but only her. One must have standards.

At my last LA music job in 1995, I decided to bring one cd into work every day alphabetically and I’ve been doing it ever since. It’s a good way of making sure nothing NEVER gets listened to, even if it’s once every few years, which is about how long it takes to go from A to Z, then comps and soundtracks.  Plus, it’s a reminder to get rid of stuff that doesn’t move me anymore. Once I discovered email signatures in the late 90’s, I’d write a little about the cd of the day every day and friends would email me just to see what it was. I stopped doing it after a few years but a few years ago, I decided to post on my personal Facebook page about whatever band I’d brought to work.  People seemed to like it but, to spare the people that didn’t care, I decided to finally start the music blog I’d always wanted to, if only for myself.  Now you’re reading too.

I don’t want to think about adding up how much time it takes to post daily.  It’d be nice to have all the Facebook posts archived here too but…that sounds like work. I started to but….meh. At one point, I decided to make a cd of faves when I got to the end of each letter.  So, on this pass through, I’ll put them here, though I’m usually a little behind.  Please share your favorites too.  Like the song says “Next time won’t you sing with me?”

BACK TO THE MAIN ABC’S OF ROCK PAGE
ABC-ROCK-banner

2 thoughts on “THE ABC’S OF ROCK

  1. Pingback: ABC’s OF ROCK: The D’s part 3 | "Yer doin' great." (a muzak clickclack)

  2. Pingback: ABC’S OF ROCK: The E’s (part 2) | "Yer doin' great." (a muzak clickclack)

Leave a Reply

