XXX COUNTDOWN WINNERS

XXX-logo
top-5-logo Check back here to see the list of top winners as we post them!  We’ll spare the bottom 20 contestants the agony of posting their scores here. Click the above banner to see the contest rules, prizes n’ details.

grammy award winners#25 Don Van Tieghem (90 points) 1994 Blur Parklife US tour tshirt
#24 Joe MacAskill (79 points) Two tickets to Michael McDonald (MAD TV) at American Comedy Club
#23 Dan Townsend (75 points) $25 gift certificate to Jaynes Gastropub
#22 Missy Peterson (73 points) Signed Blue Oyster Cult 8×10 black & white photo
#21 Jordan Krimston (70 points) $20 gift certificate to Spin Records.

"The Price Is Right" 35th Season Premiere Taping#20 Angelo F Ingrande (60 points: 39+21 point late fee, our highest late entry!) Signed 1995 Bjork setlist & ticket stub
#19 Lee Eddy (54 points) Two tickets to Brian Posehn (Mr Show) at American Comedy Club
#18 Marcie Jaramillo (49 points) $25 gift certificate to Guitar Trader
#17 Christopher Nelson (46 points) Cracker poster from OTRVinyl
#16 Alex Matthews (46 points) Four hours of studio time at XYZ Audio
Michael Jackson Holding Grammy Awards#15 A.j. LaRue (45 points) $20 Tiger! Tiger! gift certificate.
#14 Tony Nguyen (45 points) Olivia Newton-John tour tshirt signed by Frankie Avalon
#13 Andi LaRue (43 points, edging out her husband by two points and two places) $25 Lefty’s Pizza gift certificate
#12 Loretta Emery (41 points, our highest placing ex-91X employee!) GoGo’s Filmore poster from OTRVinyl
#11 James Jay Edwards (41 points) $50 Great Maple gift certificate

jeff g at coachella10TH PLACE WINNER: JEFF GERSTL (38 points). I don’t know Jeff but he bought a house in Santee and us East County folks have to stick together. He chose two tickets to see Yesterday And Today, an amazing all request Beatles show at the Poway Center For The Performing Arts.
laura b

9TH PLACE WINNER: LAURA J CANADY (37 points). The former Laura Barrie showed up to work at Motorhead Matchmaker the same time I did when she was just a highschooler and had to endure my cd collection for many years. A die-hard U2 fan, she smartly picked them to be in the top 5. She’s hidden in bushes outside of their hotel to catch a glimpse and let me accompany her to a midnight onsale of All That You Can’t Leave Behind just so I could giggle at fans (the Billy Ray Cyrus tshirt stand at the Fair was 10x more entertaining). She’s got a cute kid and is a newlywed but, most importantly, works in the Mission Valley area, so naturally she nabbed the $50 Handlery Hotel food gift certificate.

michael grossSha la la la….8TH PLACE WINNER: MIKE GORDON (35 points). Mike followed his math well enough to know that he might’ve been a top contender and let me know that he’d be on vacation and not near a computer for a week. I told him to pick a few prizes without revealing where he placed. Hailing from the great state of Massachusetts, he’s a longtime reader of my ramblings and, unsurprisingly, grabbed the collectible Jason Falkner cd/cassette gift pack.

free-my-brother-jake-island-47TH PLACE WINNER: JAKE GREVE (24 points). When I saw Jake’s name, I thought “How many Greves can there be?” Then he mentioned growing up in Encinitas which meant that he was my first girlfriend’s stepbrother. The last time I saw him, he was just a few months old. Now he’s a college student. That doesn’t make me feel ancient AT ALL. His sister told him about the contest but didn’t enter so there was no sibling rivalry. His dad is well-known artist Gerrit Greve, who designed the actual award given out at the San Diego Music Awards. If you’d told me 20 years ago that I’d one day win one, i’d have laughed heartily. I’d never even been in a band. Not only did Rookie Card win one but my grandpa is probably one of the only people to ever bother getting one engraved (click Free photo for links). He chose to get two tickets to any Casbah show. Wait, he’s 21!? Unreal.

Jeff Tweedy & Cleetus from the Red Heel Monkey Shelter6TH PLACE WINNER: JEFF TERICH (23 points). Jeff is the longtime CEO of fantastic music site Treblezine.com, the newly crowned music editor of San Diego City Beat (where I freelance every once in a blue moon) but, most importantly, the anchor of Musical Pursuit trivia team the Dancing Killer Queen Bitches of The Stone Age Is Dead. They had a long winning streak going and I even let them form a band to play live Name-That-Tune. He nabbed the $20 gift certificate to M-Theory Music but I think he’s just making a show about keeping it local. I heard he gets all of his music via either Russian torrent sites or thrown over the border fence by Mexican druglords.

celine5TH PLACE WINNER: CELINE FACCINI-KRIMSTON (21 points). Besides being the mom of Geezer’s favorite School of Rock grandkid, Celine was my favorite contestant because she was the only one who regularly talked smack. Her son and husband both entered the contest too and guess who clobbered ’em? GO, MOM! We highly recommend she take some friends to use that $50 Gordon Biersch gift certificate and let the men fend for themselves. That’ll learn ’em.

who4TH PLACE WINNER: JACK WATTERS (21 points). Jack and Celine both ended up with 21 points but Jack gets fourth place because he submitted his guesses two weeks earlier (as stated in the section 7854A). He helps my argument with conspiracy theorists since I don’t know him. About half of our contestants were people I didn’t know. Frankly, I’m happy that ANYONE I didn’t know signed up. Jack will fly in and use the two night stay at the Handlery Hotel in San Francisco!

jill record3RD PLACE WINNER: JILL BALLARD (20 points). How fitting is it that someone named Jill beat someone named Jack by one point? Having thrillracer in her email address put Morrissey’s “Boy Racer” in my head for two days solid. Little Miss Meat Is Murder took the $20 gift certificate to Blind Lady Ale House because she knew they had vegan items.

dana c2ND PLACE WINNER: DANA JONES (18 points). A surprise contestant. Dana was nice enough to film & edit some early Rookie Card and Geezer shows and put together the Worst of Cover Me Badd (links below) but I haven’t seen him in years. His wife Selena is a hilarious, regular Facebook poster but I don’t ever see Dana much on here. They named their son Bowie. Nuff said. I was surprised Dana had seen something about the contest and entered. DAMN if he didn’t kill it! As our second place winner, he gets two prizes: the two night stay at the Mission Valley Handlery and the Padres ticket four-pack!

james-W-CAPTION1ST PLACE WINNER: JAMES COBB (16 points). Right as I was about to announce our big winner, this photo surfaced on TMZ, Smoking Gun and Huffington Post. How can I give the big prize to this man when I was one of the best men at his wedding?! James was my manager when I first started working at the Wherehouse in Clairemont. Before the internet age, he was my Google. I would call him to find out who sang ANY song I couldn’t find. He always knew the answer and always reminded me that he was the only one in the Wherehouse chain who knew it. Always giving with the promos that would come through the store, it was actually at his staff Xmas party that I first got Jellyfish’s Bellybutton cd. Blame or thank him.When the world wide web came along, James was not exactly savvy. He’s one of my last friends to get tight with email, cellphones, Facebook, etc, which is nice since I’m usually the one furthest behind. He came semi-regularly to my Musical Pursuit trivia nights and was always a great free-agent ringer. When I went looking for prizes for the countdown contest, it was Petco Park’s favorite employee that threw four Padres tickets into the pot. But he said he definitely wanted to play too (one of only two sponsors gutsy enough to put in an entry).

Within a few hours of the announcement. James was the third person to submit his guesses. I rolled my eyes and thought “No one that answered that quick could’ve done well.” Oops. That meant that the mystery of who would win was immediately out the window. His 16 point score meant he was just ONE point away from perfection. If he’d chosen Pearl Jam (#5) instead of Depeche Mode (#6), you’d hate him even more. Here’s the victorious strategy visualized:
1. U2 (had to be)
2. Cure (so many songs from the glory days of the station)
3. Green Day (longevity)
4. RHCPeppers (ditto)
5. Depeche Mode (a mix of longevity and early years)

So, your conspiracy theories are invalid. I’d be more suspicious of the people who spent weeks hacking into the YDG mainframe, hiring private investigators and hoping I’d forget to log out of my gmail. He obviously worked up quite an appetite coming up with such accurate answers and chose Gordon Biersch, Station Tavern & Lefty’s Pizza gift certificates for his big three prizes.

THE SPIRIT AWARD FOR THE LOWEST SCORE
Giving the last place team free drinks at my Musical Pursuit trivia night was a great way to get people to join in that were worried about how good they’d do instead of just having fun. So I knew I’d be giving someone with the least accurate XXX Countdown guesses a prize, I just didn’t tell anyone I’d be doing it. I let the top 10 guessers choose their prizes first and then let the person with the HIGHEST point total choose a prize, without telling them they’d come in last. So who was it?

One of the very first people to submit their top 5 guesses is a great local musician with excellent taste but they obviously missed the part I tried to emphasize about making sure not to guess an act that had already been announced on the countdown. They guessed the Clash, a 91X mainstay from day one. Unfortunately, all of the band’s biggest hits came before 1983, the year of the station’s first countdown. Their lone 1985 hit put them at #411 on the list. I decided that this countdown was already time-consuming enough. I would not give ANYONE a hint or second chance. Adding 411 points to their score surely meant they would finish last….or did it?

Other guessers ignored my warning and chose acts that they could’ve avoided with a simple keyboard command involving the letter F. I saw Angels & Airwaves, Prince, the Dave Matthews Band, the Police and Florence & The Machine. None of them were in the top 91 and all of them had already been announced. Several entrants bragged about how little they’d thought about their answers in an effort to show me how cool they were. One day I received an entry that began “hmmm, without looking over your lists in detail…” that made my eyes roll. I saw that they’d guessed Violent Femmes, whose 1981 album didn’t get ANY 91X airplay until 1988 or so. The ultimate slow grower. Their lone 1991 hit “American Music” put them at #711 on the list, meaning this HAD to be our biggest loser. They closed their message by saying “don;t tell anyone if i’m way off. i have a reputation to uphold” and I couldn’t wait to bust them by name.

But no, I later received five guesses from someone that were not great but, at least they were all in the top 91….until I got to the last entry: Michael Jackson. I felt my mouth drop open a little. Time stood still. MJ had never been played regularly on the station. He never appeared on a countdown. This HAD to be it. I could’ve given them 889 points since it was literally off the charts but didn’t bother. This would be our last place entry. End of story.

Then, just a couple of days before the contest deadline, my friend Kim Miner excitedly posted a picture of her new Citizen Dick tshirt from the movie Singles. Just a few days earlier, I’d put up my own 91X Singles movie preview pass as a prize. I sent her a link about the contest and told her she should join, if only to win it. She agreed and I got a note from her titled “Top 5 of all time” which began with the Beatles, the Rolling Stones and the Who. As a child, I listened to ALL of those bands on 91X before they went new wave but, even with the Stones coming in at #252 with three of their later hits (which i’d forgotten about until this second), there were still two acts that weren’t anywhere on the chart. Finally, there was no mistaking who would win our spirit award.

earth fair w sara seanKim deserves a prize. I first met her when Rookie Card played at the Balboa Park Organ Pavillion on Earth Day. In between songs, our bassist’s girlfriend Sara walked a cute kid over to me and said “This is Sean and he has a request.” So I got down on my knees with the mic and asked him what he wanted to hear. “‘Mongoloid’ by Devo,” he replied. I tried not to laugh but turned slowly to see what hipster parent was doing such a good job and saw Kim cheering for her son.

Once she became Ophelia Handful and started doing burlesque with local troupe Sultry Savage Burlesque, she was up for being a part of many silly shows I did. When I did a last minute solo set opening for a U2 coverband, she came out and did a routine to “Rejoice”. At our Cure benefit, SSS danced to “Killing An Arab” and, in front of our Motley Crue backdrop, “Girls Girls Girls”. At Rookie Card’s Casbah telethon, she danced to the Whit Strips’ “Hello Operator” and later came out during Rookie Card’s set to hurl baseball cards from her undergarments as I rattled off the 26 MLB teams.

Maybe moving to the Pacific Northwest has erased the important details of a corporate radio station’s playlist from her mind but, in this case, it has served her well. She chose to take the vintage Fixx “Saved By Zero” shirt and, for being a good sport, we’re throwing the Singles movie pass in too. Congrats. Say hi to Sean!

SNARKIEST COMMENT AWARD
A page named Yer Doin Great obviously embraces sarcasm fully.  Doing a huge radio countdown filled with bands I hate was a great opportunity to poke some fun and, not surprisingly, the station wouldn’t have anything to do with the project.  I figured plenty of my friends would be quick to make fun of me for putting so much time and effort into 30 years of popularity contests.  Unfortunately, they were too cool to even make fun.  Only my bandmates truly dug in, waiting patiently for me to stop making Linkin Park memes and book some damn gigs.

sarcastic johnMy favorite comment goes to John Bourcet, someone I don’t even know, who saw a friend commenting on the countdown and just had to put in his two cents:
1) sprung Monkey 2) Deadbolt 3) Mower 5. who cares
To be goofing on San Diego bands all the way from Virginia makes it all the better.  He chose the two year subscription to Big Takeover Magazine as his prize.  I love this Google image search I got from the phrase “sarcastic John”.

A few other attempts at humor:
Lyn Pagsolingan: I don’t need no stinking prizes. Meh. Free is never a motivator for me. If anyone wants to play with the answers from the top of my head – DM, RHCP, BB, Radiohead, Coldplay.  I don’t want to enter…yawn.

Eric Rife: You mean the ones they played non-stop, ad nauseam at the expense of playing TRULY great artists? I’d go with Depeche Mode, the Cure, Kagagoogoo, Flock of Seagulls and the Thompson Twins.

Frankie Marino: Hmmm….probably Offspring, Blink 182, Rage Against The Machine and a few more examples of awful 90s shit

Former 91X employee who shall remain nameless:
1. Linkin Park
2. Bush
3. Limp Bizkit
4. Marcy Playground
5. Lifehouse
XXX-logo

One thought on “XXX COUNTDOWN WINNERS

  1. Pingback: XXX: Thirty Years of 91X Year End Countdowns becomes The Top 888 Modern Rock Acts of All-Time | "Yer doin' great." (a muzak clickclack)

Leave a Reply

