TOP 10 91X ACTS OF ALL-TIME

XXX-logotop-5-logo

Wanna know what songs they charted with and stuff? Too badd. They screwed my friend, so fuck 'em. Read how at https://yerdoingreat.wordpress.com/2013/06/04/how-blink-182-screwed-my-friend-out-of-over-500000/ Letter courtesy of http://stan-47.weebly.com/.

Letter courtesy of http://stan-47.weebly.com/.

turk 18210. BLINK 182. Wanna know what songs they charted with and stuff? Too badd. They screwed my friend, so fuck ’em. Read how at https://yerdoingreat.wordpress.com/2013/06/04/how-blink-182-screwed-my-friend-out-of-over-500000

It's hard for me to believe that they were my favorite band for a second there. I was buying cd bootlegs and EVERYTHING. Gish is still everything to me. I finally got a scalper to part with a ticket for $20 halfway through their Siamese Dream set at the Hollywood Palladium in my last semester of college. Insanity. I did laps around the Fillmore in the cold on the night it reopened without the same luck. $150!? I was mortified when I heard they walked on to the chase scene from Bullit. When Lollapalooza came to Shoreline that summer, they did a surpise sidestage set of b-sides and Gish songs then actually managed to follow the Beasties. The next night, Billy had something up his ass and ranted stupidly for most of the set, playing boring dirges the band tried to follow until James got bored and went into the crowd to interview people. At the Tibetan Freedom concert, he pulled the same shit. Classy. When he got all vampire n' WWF, I lost track.

It’s hard for me to believe that they were my favorite band for a second there. I was buying cd bootlegs and EVERYTHING. Gish is still everything to me. I finally got a scalper to part with a ticket for $20 halfway through their Siamese Dream set at the Hollywood Palladium in my last semester of college. Insanity. I did laps around the Fillmore in the cold on the night it reopened without the same luck. $150!? I was mortified when I heard they walked on to the chase scene from Bullit. When Lollapalooza came to Shoreline that summer, they did a surpise sidestage set of b-sides and Gish songs then actually managed to follow the Beasties. The next night, Billy had something up his ass and ranted stupidly for most of the set, playing boring dirges the band tried to follow until James got bored and went into the crowd to interview people. At the Tibetan Freedom concert, he pulled the same shit. Classy. When he got all vampire n’ WWF, I lost track.

smashing peanuts pumpkins9. SMASHING PUMPKINS 87. Siva (91) 88.  Mayonnaise 35.  Disarm 18.  Cherub Rock 2.  Today (93) 80. Spaceboy 74. Mayonnaise 42. Disarm 15. Landslide (94) 11. 1979 1. Bullet With Butterfly Wings (95) 64. Muzzle 32. Thirty Three 22. Tonight, Tonight 10. 1979  6. Zero (96) 70. The End Is The Beginning 62. Eye (97) 58. Pug  17. Perfect 13. Ava Adore (98) 53. The Tale Of Dusty And Pistol Pete (99) 60. The Everlasting Gaze  40. Stand Inside Your Love (00) 14. Tarantula (07) 31.   Freak (10) 88. Freak (11) 73. Panopticon (12) 1410points/28songs

The only act in the top 10 to slip a position in the countdown this year. Always liked 'em but never loved them enough to want to own any albums, though I had lots of friends that did. Still, it was great getting to see Ken Stringfellow (Posies) and Scott McCaughey (Young Fresh Fellows) up there playing with them at San Diego Street Scene in 2003. Peter Buck loved the fake White Stipes flyer I gave him at a Baseball Project show (see below) and Mike Mills sweetly told my then-girlfriend to watch her head in the low-ceiling'd backstage at a Satline show at Brownies in NYC. Such nice boys.

The only act in the top 10 to slip a position in the countdown this year. Always liked ’em but never loved them enough to want to own any albums, though I had lots of friends that did. Still, it was great getting to see Ken Stringfellow (Posies) and Scott McCaughey (Young Fresh Fellows) up there playing with them at San Diego Street Scene in 2003. Peter Buck loved the fake White Stipes flyer I gave him at a Baseball Project show (see below) and Mike Mills sweetly told my then-girlfriend to watch her head in the low-ceiling’d backstage at a Satline show at Brownies in NYC. Such nice boys.

rem conference8. R.E.M. 83.  South Central Rain, 71.  Pretty Persuasion   (84), 46.  Driver 8, 33.  Can’t Get There From Here (85) 49. Superman  26. Fall On Me (86) 13. It’s The End of the World as we know it  10. The one I love (87) 14. Orange Crush (88) 51. Pop Song 89 21. Stand 18. Orange Crush (89) 81. Me in Honey 61. Near Wild Heaven 43. Texarcana 11. Shiny Happy People 10. Radio Song 2. Losing My Religion (91) 28. Try Not to Breathe 5. Drive (92) 89.  Man In The Moon 38.  Photograph w/ Natalie Merchant 20.  Everybody Hurts (93) 81. Strange Currencies 19. What’s The Frequency, Kenneth? 16. Bang and Blame (94) 54. Crush With Eyeliner (95) 74. Bittersweet Me (96) 64. Daysleeper  (98) 62. The Great Beyond (00) 1567points/30songs

Them passing REM to the #7 slot is the only change in the top 10 this year. They were also one of my predictions for the top five. Of course I guessed too! Just before I tallied 'em up. That was last year. Since they moved up, does my score improve by one point? Um, YEAH. I saw them on that first tour at Slim's in SF, opening for Mike Watt before anyone knew what was going on. They were ON FIRE playing all those amazing first album songs while they were still new. The whole world seemed to be rooting for them. About a year later, at the Hollywood American Legion Hall. Greg Dulli came out to play his part on "X-Static" without much fanfare. Felt weird but probably because it's one of the few shows I ever went to by myself and probably didn't talk to anyone. I forgot that they played at the 1996 Tibetan Freedom show until I recently unearthed the report I wrote 17 years ago. I swore they wore all white and spent a LONG time last night trying to find a photo of them in the "I'll Stick Around" outfits for the Foo Gees photo but finally gave up. 16 years after the fact, I was in Golden Gate Park with them again at Outside Lands last year. I didn't bother getting near them but I could hear Dave screaming a mile away.

Them passing REM to the #7 slot is the only change in the top 10 this year. They were also one of my predictions for the top five. Of course I guessed too! Just before I tallied ’em up. That was last year. Since they moved up, does my score improve by one point? Um, YEAH.
I saw them on that first tour at Slim’s in SF, opening for Mike Watt before anyone knew what was going on. They were ON FIRE playing all those amazing first album songs while they were still new. The whole world seemed to be rooting for them. About a year later, at the Hollywood American Legion Hall. Greg Dulli came out to play his part on “X-Static” without much fanfare. Felt weird but probably because it’s one of the few shows I ever went to by myself and probably didn’t talk to anyone. I forgot that they played at the 1996 Tibetan Freedom show until I recently unearthed the report I wrote 17 years ago. I swore they wore all white and spent a LONG time last night trying to find a photo of them in the “I’ll Stick Around” outfits for the Foo Gees photo but finally gave up. 16 years after the fact, I was in Golden Gate Park with them again at Outside Lands last year. I didn’t bother getting near them but I could hear Dave screaming a mile away.

foo fighters mr t pity the foo7. FOO FIGHTERS 82. This is a Call 13. I’ll Stick Around (95) 88. Monkey Wrench 6. Everlong (97) 48. Walking After You 39. My Hero (98) 6. Learn To Fly (99)  48. Next Year 13. Breakout (00) 21.   The One  16.  All My Life (02) 26.  Times Like These 24. Darling Nikki (03) 43.   DOA 8.   Best of You (05) 66.   Skin & Bones 56. No Way Back 30.   DOA (06) 35.   Long Road to Ruin 1. The Pretender (07)  55.   Long Road To Ruin 35.   Let It Die 29.   The Pretender (08) 61. Wheels   (09) 65.   These Days 46.   Walk 14.   Rope (11), 72. Bridge Burning 47. These Days, 39. Rope (12) 1628/30

My earliest Mode memory is David Thomas and me overly seriously singing "Monument" when we were around 11 years old. I could never get behind them too seriously but I had quite a few friends in high school that did. So much so that I never had to own their albums because it's all I ever heard in their cars. I made fun but they always had songs I liked and I went to see the Violator tour in 1990 at the San Diego Sports Arena. My friend Dan and I got cheap scalped tickets that night, then snuck down to sit with our superfan friends, who were not pleased to suddenly be cramped in the seats they'd had for months. I even saw 101 in the theater...twice on opening night. Even in high school, I thought two things would be fun: seeing them play MTV's Unplugged on battery operated Casios and toy keyboards and also to do their songs with all guitars. "A Question of Time" was almost the first song Rookie Card ever covered ("Love Vigilantes" got that honor). When I saw Gahan's guitar-heavy solo show at Symphony Hall, the first DM song they did was "Question of Time" and I cursed him....might've shaken my fist too. That made me wanna finally do it and, a year or two later, Blasphemous Guitars was born. As a result, people think I'm a huge fan but it only ever started as a way to piss off purists. Who else would drive to LA just to interview fans as a goof (link below)? Some jerk. That's who.

My earliest Mode memory is David Thomas and me overly seriously singing “Monument” when we were around 11 years old. I could never get behind them too seriously but I had quite a few friends in high school that did. So much so that I never had to own their albums because it’s all I ever heard in their cars. I made fun but they always had songs I liked and I went to see the Violator tour in 1990 at the San Diego Sports Arena. My friend Dan and I got cheap scalped tickets that night, then snuck down to sit with our superfan friends, who were not pleased to suddenly be cramped in the seats they’d had for months. I even saw 101 in the theater…twice on opening night.
Even in high school, I thought two things would be fun: seeing them play MTV’s Unplugged on battery operated Casios and toy keyboards and also to do their songs with all guitars. “A Question of Time” was almost the first song Rookie Card ever covered (“Love Vigilantes” got that honor). When I saw Gahan’s guitar-heavy solo show at Symphony Hall, the first DM song they did was “Question of Time” and I cursed him….might’ve shaken my fist too. That made me wanna finally do it and, a year or two later, Blasphemous Guitars was born. As a result, people think I’m a huge fan but it only ever started as a way to piss off purists. Who else would drive to LA just to interview fans as a goof (link below)? Some jerk. That’s who.

depeche mode moat6. DEPECHE MODE  69. Get the Balance Right (1983), 42.  Get The Balance Right, 34.  Everything Counts, 13.  Blasphemous Rumors , 11.  People Are People, 5.  Master and Servant (84), 36.  Master & Servant, 9.  Shake The Disease  (85) 53. Fly On the Windscreen 11. Question of Time (86) 9. Never let me down again  4. Strange Love (87) 7. Route 66 (88) 4. Personal Jesus (89) 22. Personal Jesus 7. Enjoy the Silence  5. World in My Eyes 4. Policy of Truth (90)  46.  Condemnation 19.  Walking In My Shoes 11.  I Feel You (93) 76. It’s No Good (97) 89. Only When I Lose Myself (98) 75. I Feel Loved  63. Dream On  (01) 49.   John the Revelator 3.   Precious (05) 35. Wrong   (09) 1708/27

"Do you know who that was?!" my Poway Wherehouse co-worker asked me. "The guy who just bought the Mudhoney cd? Um, no." "I'm pretty sure that was Eddie Veder." "Oh." It was still in their early days ('92, I think) but I should've been able to recognize him with how quickly they got huge. A neighbor's brother insisted on taping Ten for me when it was just a few weeks old but it didn't really grab me. They opened up for the Red Hot Chili Peppers a few months later when I saw them a few months later and they were full of energy but we were too far away to get converted. Plus, Nirvana destroyed a few minutes later. I came down to see the show again the next night at the Del Mar Fairgrounds and came late, missing PJ. All anyone talked about was how Eddie scaled up and swung from the rafters. Oops. I was in there today and asked my girlfriend's nine year old daughter who loves them, "Guess who I saw in here?" "Who?" "Pearl Jam." "Yeah, SUUUUUURE." That next summer, they'd broken big but refused to get moved up in the Lollapalooza so I saw them do a great, quick set at the first day of the tour. Eddie scored huge points by starting the set singing "Summertime Rolls" and they were on FIRE. On the last date of the tour, they were friends with everyone so it was a free-for-all that ended with the only time they did Temple of the Dog on the mainstage. Unreal to see, especially when a huge group of people in the distance hopped the fence and made a run for it as "Hunger Strike" started. Two years later, I saw them do a simple, solid, tasteful, forgettable unplugged set at Neil Young's Bridge School benefit. I never did see them again, though my grandpa fooled most of San Diego (including the Reader) into believing Geezer was opening up for Eddie Vedder a couple of years ago. The only good April Fool's joke I ever done did.

“Do you know who that was?!” my Poway Wherehouse co-worker asked me. “The guy who just bought the Mudhoney cd? Um, no.” “I’m pretty sure that was Eddie Veder.” “Oh.” It was still in their early days (’92, I think) but I should’ve been able to recognize him with how quickly they got huge. A neighbor’s brother insisted on taping Ten for me when it was just a few weeks old but it didn’t really grab me.
They opened up for the Red Hot Chili Peppers a few months later when I saw them a few months later and they were full of energy but we were too far away to get converted. Plus, Nirvana destroyed a few minutes later. I came down to see the show again the next night at the Del Mar Fairgrounds and came late, missing PJ. All anyone talked about was how Eddie scaled up and swung from the rafters. Oops. I was in there today and asked my girlfriend’s nine year old daughter who loves them, “Guess who I saw in here?” “Who?” “Pearl Jam.” “Yeah, SUUUUUURE.”
That next summer, they’d broken big but refused to get moved up in the Lollapalooza so I saw them do a great, quick set at the first day of the tour. Eddie scored huge points by starting the set singing “Summertime Rolls” and they were on FIRE. On the last date of the tour, they were friends with everyone so it was a free-for-all that ended with the only time they did Temple of the Dog on the mainstage. Unreal to see, especially when a huge group of people in the distance hopped the fence and made a run for it as “Hunger Strike” started. Two years later, I saw them do a simple, solid, tasteful, forgettable unplugged set at Neil Young’s Bridge School benefit.
I never did see them again, though my grandpa fooled most of San Diego (including the Reader) into believing Geezer was opening up for Eddie Vedder a couple of years ago. The only good April Fool’s joke I ever done did.

pearl jam minnie weller5. PEARL JAM 58. Alive (91) 44. Black  8. Even Flow 6. Alive 2. Jeremy (92) 49.  Crazy Mary 41.  Go.  34. Elderly Woman Behind The Counter In a Small Town  1.  Daughter (93) 89. Not For you 75. Dissident 67. Corduroy 33. Nothing Man 29. Spin the Black Circle  26. Yellow Ledbetter 8. Better Man (94) 79. Better Man 25. Immorality 20. I Got ID 18. Corduroy (95) 55. Hail Hail (96) 79. In Hiding 53. Given To Fly 42. Wish List (98) 12. Last Kiss (99) 34. Light Years (00) 45.   I Am Mine (02) 31.   World Wide Suicide (06) 68. Brother 37. The Fixer 29. Just Breathe (09) 46.  Just Breathe (10) 68.   Ole (11) 1725/33

Doug Camphuis was, by far, the coolest of all of my friends' dads. He smoked, played harmonica and turned us on to the first RHCP album thanks to some guy he met at a show. A SHOW?! He was so cool that we had him play harmonica on Rookie Card's albums and made them MUCH better. I was sold after seeing an INSANE Anthony & Flea interview (STILL isn't up on Youtube, just looked for it for way too long, check the 1984 Cutting Edge link below which I think has bits of it) but still only owned the Fight Like A Brave 12" by my first year in college. Andy Warner changed that, singing their praises (well, rap/singing) and making me a stellar mix of their greatest, mostly from Mother's Milk & Uplift Mofo. I was sold and was almost as excited to see them as the B-52's on NYE 1989/90. I just remember having boundless energy running/dancing laps around the Sports Arena. Oh to be young. No, wait I had a storebought Kenny Rogers' greatest hits cassette my friend Jim gave me which actually had Freaky Styley on it. One of his relatives in Arkansas bought it and thought Kenny sounded kinda funky. When I told Anthony about it at a UCLA drug seminar before a Jellyfish show(?!), he told me about a fan who bought one of their albums and got opera instead.  Being in LA during their crazy rise probably made me tire of them more than most but it was a fun few years, starting with an incredible set closing a Palladium benefit for Wag from Mary's Danish. There were back to back 1991 LA/SD shows with Nirvana & Pearl Jam. The first show was wet thanks to a rainy night and a hole in the roof. The LA Sports Arena seemed cavernous and for their first BIG hometown show after Blood Sugar went mega, it was pretty underwhelming. The band left John making noise onstage to end the show. Awkward anti-climax. I don't think I stayed for their whole set the next night in San Diego, where I watched a guy try to scale a pole for a better view and break loose a water pipe that flooded the O'Brien Pavillion at the Del Mar Fairgrounds. I thought of that yesterday at the Fair, which is now full of hot tub salesmen, funny enough. I caught the first and last nights of the 1992 Lollapalooza tour and despite it being at the end of a LONG day, seeing them play "Crosstown Traffic" in fire-spitting helmets was a pretty great closer. Poor Arik Marshal was filling in for an abruptly departed JF and did fine. It was his first big show with them (after a few Euro festivals) so you had to root for him. I'm pretty sure they hired a girl to dance all over him for that first night. It didn't last so they decided to put an ad in the LA Weekly looking for a new guitarist (I'm guessing Flea's daughter Clara helped with the drawerings). I can't find it anywhere online but guess who saved it?! After auditioning tons of people (EVERYONE in LA knew someone that auditioned), they decided to grab Jessie Tobias from Mother Tongue, who I got to know a lil' when he became Jason Falkner's guitarist. They let him go before he ever played a gig when Dave Navarro was suddenly available. Jerks.

Doug Camphuis was, by far, the coolest of all of my friends’ dads. He smoked, played harmonica and turned us on to the first RHCP album thanks to some guy he met at a show. A SHOW?! He was so cool that we had him play harmonica on Rookie Card’s albums and made them MUCH better.
I was sold after seeing an INSANE Anthony & Flea interview (STILL isn’t up on Youtube, just looked for it for way too long, check the 1984 Cutting Edge link below which I think has bits of it) but still only owned the Fight Like A Brave 12″ by my first year in college. Andy Warner changed that, singing their praises (well, rap/singing) and making me a stellar mix of their greatest, mostly from Mother’s Milk & Uplift Mofo. I was sold and was almost as excited to see them as the B-52’s on NYE 1989/90. I just remember having boundless energy running/dancing laps around the Sports Arena. Oh to be young. No, wait I had a storebought Kenny Rogers’ greatest hits cassette my friend Jim gave me which actually had Freaky Styley on it. One of his relatives in Arkansas bought it and thought Kenny sounded kinda funky. When I told Anthony about it at a UCLA drug seminar before a Jellyfish show(?!), he told me about a fan who bought one of their albums and got opera instead.
Being in LA during their crazy rise probably made me tire of them more than most but it was a fun few years, starting with an incredible set closing a Palladium benefit for Wag from Mary’s Danish. There were back to back 1991 LA/SD shows with Nirvana & Pearl Jam. The first show was wet thanks to a rainy night and a hole in the roof. The LA Sports Arena seemed cavernous and for their first BIG hometown show after Blood Sugar went mega, it was pretty underwhelming. The band left John making noise onstage to end the show. Awkward anti-climax. I don’t think I stayed for their whole set the next night in San Diego, where I watched a guy try to scale a pole for a better view and break loose a water pipe that flooded the O’Brien Pavillion at the Del Mar Fairgrounds. I thought of that yesterday at the Fair, which is now full of hot tub salesmen, funny enough.
I caught the first and last nights of the 1992 Lollapalooza tour and despite it being at the end of a LONG day, seeing them play “Crosstown Traffic” in fire-spitting helmets was a pretty great closer. Poor Arik Marshal was filling in for an abruptly departed JF and did fine. It was his first big show with them (after a few Euro festivals) so you had to root for him. I’m pretty sure they hired a girl to dance all over him for that first night. It didn’t last so they decided to put an ad in the LA Weekly looking for a new guitarist (I’m guessing Flea’s daughter Clara helped with the drawerings). I can’t find it anywhere online but guess who saved it?! After auditioning tons of people (EVERYONE in LA knew someone that auditioned), they decided to grab Jessie Tobias from Mother Tongue, who I got to know a lil’ when he became Jason Falkner’s guitarist. They let him go before he ever played a gig when Dave Navarro was suddenly available. Jerks.

rhcp nirvana pj4. RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS 66. Knock me Down 26. Higher Ground (89) 56. Suck My Kiss 4. Give it Away (91) 48. Suck My Kiss 41. Breaking the Girl 27. Give it Away 3. Under the Bridge (92) 14.  Soul To Squeeze (93) 65. Warped 9. My Friends (95) 90. Love Rollercoaster (96) 10. Around the World 2. Scar Tissue (99)  12. Californication 2. Otherside (00) 63. Can’t Stop 26. The Zephyr Song 6.  By The Way (02) 38.   Fortune Faded (03) 68.   Fortune Faded (04) 77. Stadium Arcadium 34. Snow (Hey oh) 13. Tell Me Baby 2. Dani California (06) 18. Tell Me Baby 8.   Snow (Hey Oh) (07) 77. Monarchy of Roses 9.   The Adventures Of Rain Dance Maggie (11) 37. Look Around, 3. Adventures Of Rain Dance Maggie (12) 1898/33

Once again, it was my East Bay friend Andy Warner that first told me about them. The Lookout Records guys would come into Berkeley Stamp Company, where I worked, to get stamps made but I still hadn't heard a note when I ended up at the Paradise Lounge in SF during a Gavin convention to see the Grays. Translator and soon-to-be local faves Yah Yah Littleman were on the bill and Green Day was playing last. Dookie was less than three weeks old. They sounded like an explosion of energy but my friend was tired and wanted to leave. John from Yah Yah LIttleman said they were really good and Billy Joe drank beer out of a girl’s shoe from the crowd. I believe him.  Five months later, they were one of the biggest bands on earth when Lollapalooza rolled through for what would be their closest hometown show. Exactly like Pearl Jam two years before, they'd become so huge by the time the tour started that the organizers wanted them to play later in the day. But, like PJ, they refused so they could play early and enjoy the rest of their day. They were on FIRE. Amazing and the crowd ate it up as Billy Joe ran a lap throughout Shoreline midsong. The next time I saw them, six years later at Warped Tour, they were practically veterans. Again, DESTROYED.

Once again, it was my East Bay friend Andy Warner that first told me about them. The Lookout Records guys would come into Berkeley Stamp Company, where I worked, to get stamps made but I still hadn’t heard a note when I ended up at the Paradise Lounge in SF during a Gavin convention to see the Grays. Translator and soon-to-be local faves Yah Yah Littleman were on the bill and Green Day was playing last. Dookie was less than three weeks old. They sounded like an explosion of energy but my friend was tired and wanted to leave. John from Yah Yah LIttleman said they were really good and Billy Joe drank beer out of a girl’s shoe from the crowd. I believe him.
Five months later, they were one of the biggest bands on earth when Lollapalooza rolled through for what would be their closest hometown show. Exactly like Pearl Jam two years before, they’d become so huge by the time the tour started that the organizers wanted them to play later in the day. But, like PJ, they refused so they could play early and enjoy the rest of their day. They were on FIRE. Amazing and the crowd ate it up as Billy Joe ran a lap throughout Shoreline midsong. The next time I saw them, six years later at Warped Tour, they were practically veterans. Again, DESTROYED.

green daye3. GREEN DAY 18. Welcome to Paradise 11. Longview 9. When I Come Around 6. Basket Case (94)  74. 2,000 Light Years Away 41. She 16. Geek Stink Breath (95) 84. Jaded (96) 45. Good Riddance 30. Hitchin’ a Ride (97) 50. Redundant 34. Good Riddance (98) 49. Warning 6. Minority (00) 47. Poprocks Plus Coke  30. Castaway (01) 29. Desensitized (02) 73. Roshambo (w/ The Network) (03) 84. Roshambo 09.   Wake Me Up When September Ends 04.   American Idiot 01.  Boulevard of Broken Dreams (04) 9.   Wake Me Up When September Ends 11.   Jesus of Suburbia (05) 53. The Saints Are Coming (w/U2)(06) 73.   Working Class Hero (07) 47. East Jesus Nowhere 20. Know Your Enemy 11. 21 Guns   (09) 57.   21 Guns 27.   East Jesus Nowhere (10) 50. Let Yourself Go, 16. Oh Love (12) 1912/33

I have a vague memory of seeing the "Let's Go To Bed" video at David Thomas' house in 6th grade and our friends saying how GAY they were. David & I were DMode/Devo lovers so we tried not to tap our toes too loud. Like the other two arms of the Holy Trinity of Mopedom (DMode/Smiths), I had lots of high school friends that loved them but I never shed eyeliner tears for them, though they had plenty of songs I loved. When they came through town in 1989, some of us lined up at Tower Records and some of us at the Sports Arena box office for tickets. Then we used hand signals across Sports Arena Blvd to let each other know who was going to get there first when tickets went onsale. We all got goth'd up for the show. Wish someone could find THAT picture. I didn't actually see the band but I sure saw a lot of smoke. I scratched my ear and lost Jim Cathcart's dad's fake magnetic earring. Sorry, Mr Cathcart. Shelleyan Orphan was walking through the crowd unnoticed afterwards so we ran after them to heap praise. Fantastic band. One of the Cure guys liked 'em so much, he married the singer. Blasphemous Guitars started out just doing Depeche Mode songs but the Cure was the logical next band to start screwing with. By the time I organized the Ain't No Cure cancer benefit at the Casbah, we had a good 25 minutes worth of stuff, most of which was never filmed or put online but you can watch a few in the comments below. The last of the mashups came to me at 3am as I was getting in bed. Out of nowhere, I suddenly thought "Whole Lotta Lovecats" and I was a genius until a girl I was trying to date suggested the title when I told her we were playing with a Zep tribute. When we first hung out, she took me to her car and showed me her license plate: LUVCATT. We've been together for six years.

I have a vague memory of seeing the “Let’s Go To Bed” video at David Thomas’ house in 6th grade and our friends saying how GAY they were. David & I were DMode/Devo lovers so we tried not to tap our toes too loud.
Like the other two arms of the Holy Trinity of Mopedom (DMode/Smiths), I had lots of high school friends that loved them but I never shed eyeliner tears for them, though they had plenty of songs I loved. When they came through town in 1989, some of us lined up at Tower Records and some of us at the Sports Arena box office for tickets. Then we used hand signals across Sports Arena Blvd to let each other know who was going to get there first when tickets went onsale. We all got goth’d up for the show. Wish someone could find THAT picture. I didn’t actually see the band but I sure saw a lot of smoke. I scratched my ear and lost Jim Cathcart’s dad’s fake magnetic earring. Sorry, Mr Cathcart. Shelleyan Orphan was walking through the crowd unnoticed afterwards so we ran after them to heap praise. Fantastic band. One of the Cure guys liked ’em so much, he married the singer.
Blasphemous Guitars started out just doing Depeche Mode songs but the Cure was the logical next band to start screwing with. By the time I organized the Ain’t No Cure cancer benefit at the Casbah, we had a good 25 minutes worth of stuff, most of which was never filmed or put online but you can watch a few in the comments below. The last of the mashups came to me at 3am as I was getting in bed. Out of nowhere, I suddenly thought “Whole Lotta Lovecats” and I was a genius until a girl I was trying to date suggested the title when I told her we were playing with a Zep tribute. When we first hung out, she took me to her car and showed me her license plate: LUVCATT. We’ve been together for six years.

Click to read the story of the greatest charity record outtake of all-time.

Click to read the story of the greatest charity record outtake of all-time.

cure ain't no2. THE CURE  13. Let’s Go to Bed, 2.   Love Cats (1983), 38.  Let’s Go To Bed, 31.  Love Cats (84) 12.  In Between Days  6.  A Night Like This (85) 55. In Between Days  43. Close To Me  2. Boys Don’t Cry (86) 66. Hot! Hot! Hot! , 38. The Kiss 20. How Beautiful you are 6. Why can’t I be you 1. Just like Heaven (87) 5. Fascination Street  3. Lullaby 2. Love Song  (89) 76. Pictures of You 70. Close to Me (remix) 57. Harold and Joe 35. Hello, I Love You 2. Never Enough (90) 40. High 7. Letter to Elise 4. Friday I’m in Love (92) 22.  Purple Haze (93) 24. Mint Car (96) 48. Wronger Number (97) 71. Maybe Someday (00) 27. Alt. End 17.   End of the World (04) 2009/31

Backstage pass c/o 91X's Dwight Arnold. I don't really remember buying in when MTV showed them in the snow every hour but when Under A Blood Red Sky came out, they became my favorite band for a year or so there. Bought all the albums, import EP's, the whole bit. But my mom wouldn't let me see them when they came through on the Unforgettable Fire tour because of something called Passover. I immediately renounced my Judiaism...for a Christian band. Ugh. Then I realized I was too much of a goof to love all that earnestness. I saw Rattle & Hum in the theater and was glad to see they had a sense of humor. Little did we know how much they'd embrace irony within a few years.  I remember trying to call Ticketmaster for an hour trying to see them on the first Zoo TV tour. Dial. Busy. Click. Redial. Busy. Click. Redial...no dice. Classmate Dave Kaplan was able to get us some cheap, mediocre seats at Anaheim Stadium on the outdoor tour and it was quite a sight with all the cars and lights and tv's. When I was in London for a few days in my last summer before graduating college, I managed to miss Reading Festival by two weeks AND U2 Wembley shows on consecutive weekends. They left their stage up on their off nights and I saw it when I took a tour of the stadium. To be in England...in the summertime...close to the Edge...but not quite. As I had to leave my hostel the morning of the show, a cute blonde from Pennsylvania walked in and said "Is anyone going to the U2 show?" Seriously?!

Backstage pass c/o 91X’s Dwight Arnold.
I don’t really remember buying in when MTV showed them in the snow every hour but when Under A Blood Red Sky came out, they became my favorite band for a year or so there. Bought all the albums, import EP’s, the whole bit. But my mom wouldn’t let me see them when they came through on the Unforgettable Fire tour because of something called Passover. I immediately renounced my Judiaism…for a Christian band. Ugh. Then I realized I was too much of a goof to love all that earnestness. I saw Rattle & Hum in the theater and was glad to see they had a sense of humor. Little did we know how much they’d embrace irony within a few years.
I remember trying to call Ticketmaster for an hour trying to see them on the first Zoo TV tour. Dial. Busy. Click. Redial. Busy. Click. Redial…no dice. Classmate Dave Kaplan was able to get us some cheap, mediocre seats at Anaheim Stadium on the outdoor tour and it was quite a sight with all the cars and lights and tv’s. When I was in London for a few days in my last summer before graduating college, I managed to miss Reading Festival by two weeks AND U2 Wembley shows on consecutive weekends. They left their stage up on their off nights and I saw it when I took a tour of the stadium. To be in England…in the summertime…close to the Edge…but not quite. As I had to leave my hostel the morning of the show, a cute blonde from Pennsylvania walked in and said “Is anyone going to the U2 show?” Seriously?!

1. J GEILS BAND 19. Two Hearts Beat as One, 12. Sunday Bloody Sunday, 7.   New Year’s Day (1983), 46.  Sunday Bloody Sunday, 33.  New Year’s Day, 2.  Pride (84), 83.  Love Comes Tumbling, 57.  Sort Of Homecoming, 13.  Bad (85) 81. Trip through your wires 68. In God’s country 58. One Tree Hill – 40. Spanish Eyes 35. Bullet the Blue Sky 25. Still haven’t found what I’m looking for 12. Where the Streets have no name 8. With or without you (87) 73. When loves comes to town 38. Angel of Harlem 35. God Part II 2. Desire (88) 78. Everlasting love 56. Desire (89) 14. Night and Day (90) 60. One 14. The Fly 8. Mysterious Ways (91) 61. The Fly 58. Zoo Station 37. The End of the World – 23. Even Better Than the Real Thing 14. Who’s Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses 12. Mysterious Ways 1. One (92) 31.  Zooropa 30.  Stay (Faraway, So Close) 24.  Numb 21.  Lemon (93) 86. Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me (95) 65. Discotheque 37. Staring At The Sun (97) 16. Sweetest Thing (98) 89. The Ground Beneath Your Feet 16. Beautiful Day (00) 58. Elevation  10. In A Little While (01) 72.   Electrical Storm (02) 14.   Vertigo (04) 83. City of blinding Lights 29.   Sometimes you can’t make it On Your Own (05) 53.   The Saints Are Coming w/Green Day (06) 2775/56

GEEK NOTES
6 YEARS IN BETWEEN HITS: BLINK 182 Not Now (05) Up All Night (11)
7 YEARS IN BETWEEN HITS: SMASHING PUMPKINS Stand Inside Your Love (00) Tarantula (07)
4 CONSECUTIVE YEARS: Foos 97-00
5 CONSECUTIVE YEARS: Cure 83-87, Green Day 94-98, Foos 05-09
6 CONSECUTIVE YEARS: REM 84-89, REM 91-96, Pearl jam 91-96
7 CONSECUTIVE YEARS: U2 87-93
8 CONSECUTIVE YEARS: Depeche Mode 83-90, Pumpkins 93-00, Green Day 00-07
11 CONSECUTIVE YEARS: Blink 182 95-05
4 SONGS IN ONE YEAR: U2  (88), Dmode (90), Pearl Jam, RHCP (92), Pearl Jam, Pumpkins (93), Green Day, Smashing Pumpkins (94), Green Day (04) RHCP (06)
5 SONGS IN ONE YEAR: Dmode (84),  Cure (87), Cure (90)
6 SONGS IN ONE YEAR: REM (91)
7 SONGS IN ONE YEAR: U2 (92), Pearl Jam (94)
8 SONGS IN ONE YEAR: U2 (87)
BACK TO THE MAIN XXX PAGEXXX-logo

3 thoughts on “TOP 10 91X ACTS OF ALL-TIME

  1. Pingback: TOP 11-20 91X ACTS OF ALL-TIME | "Yer doin' great." (a muzak clickclack)

  2. Pingback: XXX: Thirty Years of 91X Year End Countdowns becomes The Top 888 Modern Rock Acts of All-Time | "Yer doin' great." (a muzak clickclack)

Leave a Reply

