TOP 21-30 91X ACTS OF ALL-TIME

XXX-logotop-5-logo

 I remember forcing a smile and a thank you when a friend gave me his first album for my bar mitzvah. Not a fan, especially after I heard Generation X's "Kiss Me Deadly" on a life-changing 9th grade mix tape. What happened?! I still ended up seeing him twice, once at a KROQ Acoustic show, his first show with Steve Stevens in years, and a Viejas show I ended seeing for free somehow. When the entire crowd did the "HEY MOTHER FUCKER GET LAID GET FUCKED" thing in the middle of "Mony Mony", my friend and I looked at each other in shock. We were the only ones there that'd never heard it apparently. Some of the Jane's Diction guys got roped into almost starting an Idol tribute band so we did "Rebel Yell" in rehearsal once and I have to admit, it was fun. Don't tell anyone. I heard he dated Leeza Gibbons for a minute. Can you imagine that dinner conversation?

I remember forcing a smile and a thank you when a friend gave me his first album for my bar mitzvah. Not a fan, especially after I heard Generation X’s “Kiss Me Deadly” on a life-changing 9th grade mix tape. What happened?! I still ended up seeing him twice, once at a KROQ Acoustic show, his first show with Steve Stevens in years, and a Viejas show I ended seeing for free somehow. When the entire crowd did the “HEY MOTHER FUCKER GET LAID GET FUCKED” thing in the middle of “Mony Mony”, my friend and I looked at each other in shock. We were the only ones there that’d never heard it apparently. Some of the Jane’s Diction guys got roped into almost starting an Idol tribute band so we did “Rebel Yell” in rehearsal once and I have to admit, it was fun. Don’t tell anyone. I heard he dated Leeza Gibbons for a minute. Can you imagine that dinner conversation?

gen x30. BILLY IDOL 24. Dancing with Myself, 21. White Wedding, 16. Rebel Yell (1983), 29.  Rebel Yell,  26. Eyes Without a Face, 23.  Catch My Fall, 19.  Flesh For Fantasy (84), 87. Don’t Need A Gun 57. Sweet Sixteen 16. To Be a Lover (86) 34. Mony Mony (87) 65. Prodigal Blues 43. L.A. Woman 26. Cradle of Love (90) 802points/14songs

 In 1984, I bought three 45's from The Swing instead of just buying the album. Not sure what I was thinking there. I've never heard more screaming at a show than when I saw them in 1988 at the Sports Arena. Women done lost their minds. Some great tunes but I didn't think about 'em too much until Jellyfish opened their famed Wembley Stadium show. I should dig up that VHS....

In 1984, I bought three 45’s from The Swing instead of just buying the album. Not sure what I was thinking there. I’ve never heard more screaming at a show than when I saw them in 1988 at the Sports Arena. Women done lost their minds. Some great tunes but I didn’t think about ’em too much until Jellyfish opened their famed Wembley Stadium show. I should dig up that VHS….

inxs229. INXS 78. Don’t Change (1983), 80.  The One Thing 9.  I Send A Message (84), 84.  What You Need, 11.  This Time(85) 82. This Time  44. Listen Like Thieves 34. Kiss the Dirt 15. What You Need (86) 82. Mystify 46. Good Times 5. Need you Tonight (87) 27. Disappear 8. Suicide Blonde (90) 55. Shining Star (91) 33. Not Enough Time (92) 43. Elegantly Wasted (97)  828points/17songs

While coming in at #28 on points, Beck is #11 for most songs (20) and most years (12). Hearing "Loser" always reminds me of my time in the Bay Area when it was new and sounded huge when it played nonstop on Live 105. I've seen him many times over the years and it's always a blast: twice at UCSD RIMAC, once acoustic there in a small auditorium, Petra Haden's Knitting Factory benefit, This Ain't No Picnic, a surprise Largo Jon Brion opening set with Beth Orton, the first Coachella and, most recently, Outside Lands in SF. Many moons ago, Roger Manning and I were laughing at an Army recruitment tv ad that copped the "Where It's At" organ intro and he became Beck's longtime keyboardist just a couple of weeks later. Jinx. Same thing happened after he showed me Air's "Sexy Boy" video a few years later. It's been a kick seeing him, Jason and Ryan Falkner and Lyle Workman up there with Mr Hansen over the years. He's been nothing but nice when we've talked. The most random was around the time local writer Seth Combs wouldn't shut up about rumors that Nigel Godrich was going to produce the Strokes and how he'd ruin them. I saw Beck at a TV Eyes show and thought I'd ask someone who'd really know. His answer? He said he doubted it because he was so into recording live. In fact, most of Sea Change was recorded with the whole band at once, sometimes along with an orchestra. Can't imagine how incredible it would've been to be in the room when they did "Round The Bend".

While coming in at #28 on points, Beck is #11 for most songs (20) and most years (12). Hearing “Loser” always reminds me of my time in the Bay Area when it was new and sounded huge when it played nonstop on Live 105. I’ve seen him many times over the years and it’s always a blast: twice at UCSD RIMAC, once acoustic there in a small auditorium, Petra Haden’s Knitting Factory benefit, This Ain’t No Picnic, a surprise Largo Jon Brion opening set with Beth Orton, the first Coachella and, most recently, Outside Lands in SF. Many moons ago, Roger Manning and I were laughing at an Army recruitment tv ad that copped the “Where It’s At” organ intro and he became Beck’s longtime keyboardist just a couple of weeks later. Jinx. Same thing happened after he showed me Air’s “Sexy Boy” video a few years later. It’s been a kick seeing him, Jason and Ryan Falkner and Lyle Workman up there with Mr Hansen over the years. He’s been nothing but nice when we’ve talked. The most random was around the time local writer Seth Combs wouldn’t shut up about rumors that Nigel Godrich was going to produce the Strokes and how he’d ruin them. I saw Beck at a TV Eyes show and thought I’d ask someone who’d really know. His answer? He said he doubted it because he was so into recording live. In fact, most of Sea Change was recorded with the whole band at once, sometimes along with an orchestra. Can’t imagine how incredible it would’ve been to be in the room when they did “Round The Bend”.

bek28. BECK 40.  Loser (93) 83. Beercan  34. Loser (94) 56. Devil’s Haircut  16. Where It’s At (96) 64. Dead Weight  27. Jack-Ass  25. The New Pollution (97) 49. Tropicalia (98) 36. Sexxlaws (99) 73. Mixed Buziness 57. Sexxlaws (00) 77.   Lost Cause (02) 64. E-pro 47. Que Onda Guero  26. Girl (05) 81.   Think I’m In Love 20.   Nausea (06) 67.   Timebomb (07) 61.   Gamma Ray (08) 837/20

Every girl I knew was crazy about them. Every guy wanted to stay up late and see their videos on Skinemax. Trivia: when OMD opened for them in San DIego in the 80's, Andrew McCluskey picked up on an underaged Coronado girl...and they're still together. I saw them headline a KROQ Xmas show and the loudest girl on earth was sitting in front of us. Everytime she yelled "I LOVE YOU SIMON!" all of Universal Ampitheater heard it. I finally waited and in the lowest voice I could muster, yelled "I WANNA FUCK YOU SIMON!" Huge laughter and then her turning around and saying "That's the spirit!"

Every girl I knew was crazy about them. Every guy wanted to stay up late and see their videos on Skinemax. Trivia: when OMD opened for them in San DIego in the 80’s, Andrew McCluskey picked up on an underaged Coronado girl…and they’re still together. I saw them headline a KROQ Xmas show and the loudest girl on earth was sitting in front of us. Everytime she yelled “I LOVE YOU SIMON!” all of Universal Ampitheater heard it. I finally waited and in the lowest voice I could muster, yelled “I WANNA FUCK YOU SIMON!” Huge laughter and then her turning around and saying “That’s the spirit!”

duran1227. DURAN DURAN 18. Rio, 14. Save a Prayer, 4.   Union of the Snake (1983), 32.  Hungry Like A Wolf, 25.  Save A Prayer, 22.  Reflex ,3.  Wild Boys (84), 76. Notorious (86) 44. All she wants is 25. I don’t want your love (88) 77. Violence of Summer (90) 32.  Come Undone 27.  Ordinary World (93) 86. Electric Barbarella (97) 24.   All You Need Is Now (11) 871/15

Possibly the biggest southern California band that never got popular anywhere else. I've told the tale of them almost being my first concert but we left because we weren't tall enough to see (link below). They became my favorite band shortly thereafter and in just three years I saw them at SDSU just before Dead Man's Party came out, a return to the Del Mar racetrack, 91X's huge Mexfest show inTijuana and on New Years at the Sports Arena (the year "D.M.P." was the #1 song). After that I fell out of love with them but couldn't resist going to see their final show at Universal Ampitheater on Halloween 1995. Unfortunately my friend Mike Byer wasn't so lucky. He was running late so I left him his ticket at willcall and somehow they let someone else sign for it. Unreal. I never rebought the old albums but every once in awhile I remember how great that early stuff was. I tend to giggle at the fans as rabid as I used to be. There's a fantastic tribute band round these parts called Dead Man's Party and our short-lived Oasis parody the Fookin Wankers opened for them years ago. Liam Gallawanker laid into the crowd so hard that nobody would come near the stage. Years later, our mashup band Blasphemous Guitars opened for them at the same place and to entice them to come closer, I made copies of a Boingo logo I made in 9th grade typing class, a drawing I did of the band in 10th grade and made the infamous Oingo Bingo game card of things you see at a DMP show. I placed them in stacks at the front of the stage during our second song and people ran up en masse to get them. They laughed a lot and actually stayed. One of our best nights ever where people GOT IT. They had more of a sense of humor about themselves than I could've hoped for and ate it up. I might've kept running out to sing backups with the band later. Maybe.

Possibly the biggest southern California band that never got popular anywhere else. I’ve told the tale of them almost being my first concert but we left because we weren’t tall enough to see (link below). They became my favorite band shortly thereafter and in just three years I saw them at SDSU just before Dead Man’s Party came out, a return to the Del Mar racetrack, 91X’s huge Mexfest show inTijuana and on New Years at the Sports Arena (the year “D.M.P.” was the #1 song). After that I fell out of love with them but couldn’t resist going to see their final show at Universal Ampitheater on Halloween 1995. Unfortunately my friend Mike Byer wasn’t so lucky. He was running late so I left him his ticket at willcall and somehow they let someone else sign for it. Unreal. I never rebought the old albums but every once in awhile I remember how great that early stuff was. I tend to giggle at the fans as rabid as I used to be. There’s a fantastic tribute band round these parts called Dead Man’s Party and our short-lived Oasis parody the Fookin Wankers opened for them years ago. Liam Gallawanker laid into the crowd so hard that nobody would come near the stage. Years later, our mashup band Blasphemous Guitars opened for them at the same place and to entice them to come closer, I made copies of a Boingo logo I made in 9th grade typing class, a drawing I did of the band in 10th grade and made the infamous Oingo Bingo game card of things you see at a DMP show. I placed them in stacks at the front of the stage during our second song and people ran up en masse to get them. They laughed a lot and actually stayed. One of our best nights ever where people GOT IT. They had more of a sense of humor about themselves than I could’ve hoped for and ate it up. I might’ve kept running out to sing backups with the band later. Maybe.

oingo226. OINGO BOINGO 71. Only a Lad, 20.  Nothing Bad Ever Happens (1983), 91.  Only A Lad (1984) 34.  Weird Science 27.  Dead Man’s Party 19.  Just Another Day (85) 31.  Stay  21. Not My Slave 1.Dead Man’s Party (86), 70. Not my slave  22. We Close our Eyes 7. Pain (87) 31. Winning Side (88) 64. Flesh and Blood (89) 88. When the Lights Go Out 28. Out of Control (90) 85. Hey! 70. Insanity (94) 876/18
nirvana 1nirvana 2 nevermind25. NIRVANA 76. On a Plain 1. Smells Like Teen Spirit (91) 66. Come as You are 51. In Bloom 21. Lithium (92)  26.  Rape Me 10.  All Apologies 6.  Heart Shaped Box (93) 82. Dumb 51. Plateau 39. The Man who Sold the World 37. All Apologies (Unplugged)  10. About a Girl (94) 12. Aneurysm (96) 3.    You Know You’re Right  (02) 889/15

I saw them at the first Lollapalooza throwing their stuff around in the middle of the day with smoke machines on full and could only think of El Guapo in iThree Amigos! saying "I like these guys. They are funny guys!" They probably weren't trying to be funny, were they?

I saw them at the first Lollapalooza throwing their stuff around in the middle of the day with smoke machines on full and could only think of El Guapo in iThree Amigos! saying “I like these guys. They are funny guys!” They probably weren’t trying to be funny, were they?

nine inch nails naan24. NINE INCH NAILS 36. Head Like a Hole (90) 15. Head Like a Hole (91) 46. Happiness in Slavery (92) 50. March of the Pigs 3. Closer (94) 32. Hurt  (95) 41. The Perfect Drug (97) 66. We Are In This Together 24. Into The Void (99) 35. Into The Void  (00) 78. Deep  (01) 27.   Only 4.   The Hand That Feeds  (05) 47.   Every Day Is Exactly The Same (06) 57.   Survivalism 24.   Capital G (07) 57. Discipline (08) 922/17

I love the way his voice sounds so strained no matter what he's singing and also I am lying.

I love the way his voice sounds so strained no matter what he’s singing and also I am lying.

 I love the way his voice sounds so strained no matter what he's singing and also I am lying.

23.  RISE AGAINST 36. Swing Life Away  (05) 14. Ready to Fall (06) 42.   The Good Left Undone 7.   Prayer of the Refugee (07) 80.   The Good Left Undone 69. Audience Of One 8.   Re-Education (Through Labor) (08) 49. Re-Education (Through Labor) 22. Audience of One 4. Savior   (09) 82.   Audience Of One 37.   Savior (10) 28.   Make It Stop 8.   Help Is On The Way (11) 85. Help Is On The Way, 40. Satellite, 27. Wait For Me (12) 926/17

If you were curious, the Smiths had 11 songs in the countdown in their five short years and came in at #44. If you combine solo and Smiths points, it would put them at #9. Manchester's mopiest decided to do his very first US show here in San Diego and it was INSANE. Everything I wanted it to be and credit to Michelle Loesch for predicting that he'd open with "Interesting Drug". A year later I helped set up some equipment for a Moz meet & greet at the Abbey in Hillcrest. The building was full of fans all thinking they were going to get to meet him. He showed up late with a wave and was whisked into a room where he met a few contest winners. Then they took to him to a balcony where they informed the crowd he couldn't meet everyone but would answer a few questions which were awkwardly yelled from below. After a few minutes, he gave a wave and walked out of sight. The next thing I knew, he'd decided to walk downstairs right next to me and was immediately mobbed. Security saved him and he was GONE.  A few months later he played the Hollywood Bowl and, at the time, they rarely did rock shows there so I went with a friend. Our seats were halfway decent and he still seemed like a speck. I couldn't believe people around me were screaming for him in another zip code. Still it was cool to see him sing "We look to Los Angeles..." for the first time in the CIty of Angels. I never needed to see him again but watched him from afar at the first Coachella where I first saw the Latino thing. I still don't get why they love someone THAT white. Blasphemous Guitars arranged a Casbah afterparty when he played a bitchy Bayside show a few years ago. People seemed really excited to see us before the show but he was complaining so much, they all just wanted to go home afterwards. Thanks a lot, jerk.

If you were curious, the Smiths had 11 songs in the countdown in their five short years and came in at #44. If you combine solo and Smiths points, it would put them at #9.
Manchester’s mopiest decided to do his very first US show here in San Diego and it was INSANE. Everything I wanted it to be and credit to Michelle Loesch for predicting that he’d open with “Interesting Drug”. A year later I helped set up some equipment for a Moz meet & greet at the Abbey in Hillcrest. The building was full of fans all thinking they were going to get to meet him. He showed up late with a wave and was whisked into a room where he met a few contest winners. Then they took to him to a balcony where they informed the crowd he couldn’t meet everyone but would answer a few questions which were awkwardly yelled from below. After a few minutes, he gave a wave and walked out of sight. The next thing I knew, he’d decided to walk downstairs right next to me and was immediately mobbed. Security saved him and he was GONE.
A few months later he played the Hollywood Bowl and, at the time, they rarely did rock shows there so I went with a friend. Our seats were halfway decent and he still seemed like a speck. I couldn’t believe people around me were screaming for him in another zip code. Still it was cool to see him sing “We look to Los Angeles…” for the first time in the CIty of Angels. I never needed to see him again but watched him from afar at the first Coachella where I first saw the Latino thing. I still don’t get why they love someone THAT white. Blasphemous Guitars arranged a Casbah afterparty when he played a bitchy Bayside show a few years ago. People seemed really excited to see us before the show but he was complaining so much, they all just wanted to go home afterwards. Thanks a lot, jerk.

morrissey van morrison22. MORRISSEY 39. Hairdresser on Fire 30. Everyday is like Sunday 6. Suedehead (88) 67. Interesting Drug 19. Last of the Famous International (89) 34. November Spawned a Monster (90) 41. Sing Your Life 31. That’s Entertainment 30. Our Frank (91) 53. We Hate it When Our Friends Become Successful 50. Glamorous Glue 38. Disappointed  25. You’re the One for Me Fatty 10. Tomorrow (92) 65. The More You Ignore Me, The Closer I Get (94) 47.   First of the Gang to Die 43. Irish Blood, English Heart  (04) 936/17

You thought YOUR town hated them? When their record company claimed that they came up in San Diego clubs, local purists had a field day. I never cared for them but I did think it was great when they played MTV's Spring Break early on and Weiland came out in drag for the frat boy masses. I saw them at the first KROQ Weenie Roast and they were literally completely forgettable. I once met a guy who worked with the band for years that said while the others were great guys, Weiland is the biggest asshole on earth, sober or wasted. Geezer has played with no less than THREE STP tributes and I hear there are others in soCal. Thank god they're around to keep their music alive. Oh wait, they just got the guy from Linkin Park to help do that? Kill me now.

You thought YOUR town hated them? When their record company claimed that they came up in San Diego clubs, local purists had a field day. I never cared for them but I did think it was great when they played MTV’s Spring Break early on and Weiland came out in drag for the frat boy masses. I saw them at the first KROQ Weenie Roast and they were literally completely forgettable. I once met a guy who worked with the band for years that said while the others were great guys, Weiland is the biggest asshole on earth, sober or wasted. Geezer has played with no less than THREE STP tributes and I hear there are others in soCal. Thank god they’re around to keep their music alive. Oh wait, they just got the guy from Linkin Park to help do that? Kill me now.

stone temple pilots wicked garden21. STONE TEMPLE PILOTS 44.  Creep  37.  Wicked Garden 8.  Plush (93) 41. Big Empty 17. Vasoline 5. Interstate Love Song (94) 60. Dancing Days  (95) 42. Lady Picture Show 17. Big Bang Baby 7. Trippin’ On A Hole In A Paper Heart (96) 51. Down (99) 26. Sour Girl (00) 79. Days Of The Week  71. Hollywood Bitch 60. Revolution (01) 41. All In The Suit That You Wear (03) 17.   Between The Lines (10) 941/17

GEEK NOTES:
5 YEARS IN BETWEEN HITS: INXS Not Enough Time (92) Elegantly Wasted (97)
7 YEARS IN BETWEEN HITS: STONE TEMPLE PILOTS All In The Suit That You Wear (03) Between The Lines (10)
10 YEARS IN BETWEEN HITS: MORRISSEY The More You Ignore Me, The Closer I Get (94) Irish Blood, English Heart  (04)
4 CONSECUTIVE YEARS STP 93-96, NIN 05-08, Beck 05-08,
5 CONSECUTIVE YEARS INXS 83-87, Morrissey 88-92, Beck 96-00
8 CONSECUTIVE YEARS Oingo Boingo 83-90, Rise Against 05-12
4 SONGS IN ONE YEAR Duran (84)  INXS (86) STP (96)
5 SONGS IN ONE YEAR Morrissey (92), Nirvana (94)
Check back here to keep up with the countdown or just “like” our Facebook page to see one act a day announced!

ON TO #11-20 
BACK TO THE MAIN XXX PAGE
XXX-logo

2 thoughts on “TOP 21-30 91X ACTS OF ALL-TIME

  1. Pingback: XXX: Thirty Years of 91X Year End Countdowns becomes The Top 888 Modern Rock Acts of All-Time | "Yer doin' great." (a muzak clickclack)

  2. Pingback: TOP 31-40 91X ACTS OF ALL-TIME | "Yer doin' great." (a muzak clickclack)

Leave a Reply

