Pregnant rapper Cooter Brown puts the F in NSFW

It takes a lot to get Yer Doin Great excited about new music but Cooter Brown has taken the genre of rap and sent it three trimesters into the future of awesome.  It speaks volumes that this is the first interview we’ve asked for in our two years of existence.  If you haven’t witnessed the new face of hip-hop, watch Cooter’s only recorded output to date below, the shockingly mature “Wolf Dick”. Please be sure to do so with the kids out of the room and/or the boss away for five minutes.

Yer Doin Great: Why have we not heard from Cooter Brown sooner?  What have you been doing?

Cooter Brown: I guess I’ve secretly wanted to be a rapper since I was ten years old. I never really had the guts though, until my 30th birthday, when I decided it’d be fun to record a rap song and play it at my “Dirty Thirty” party. The response was so positive, that the next logical step was a music video. Then when I was really fat/pregnant, I knew it was the perfect time to shoot the video.

YDG: Is Cooter Brown on your birth certificate or is it just your MC moniker?

Brown: I wish it were my real name, but to answer your question, I have a different name on my birth certificate.

YDG: When and how did an appreciation for your man’s wolf dick take the shape of a tribute song?

dick-wolf-author-image_vert-d64e946fa78144100c63e6ee9c8f22981190fcb2-s6-c10Brown: It actually started a long time ago, when I was in high school. I used to watch entirely too much Law and Order, and at the end of every episode, when Executive Producer, Dick Wolf’s credit would appear, I would always mutter “Wolf Dick” under my breath. Years later, while working my retail job, the chorus just kind of came to me, When I told my husband I wanted to record it, he explained to me that songs usually have verses, so I got to work.

YDG: Are there other parts of your man’s anatomy that have wolf-like qualities?  Or other animals?

Brown: To be frank, it’s mainly his dick that has wolf like properties. The rest of him is just kind of a bear. Probably a brown bear. Or maybe a Wolf Bear?

YDG: I know that members of famed rock outfit Red Pony Clock were involved in the making of the video.  They’re often closely associated with the Elephant 6 music family.  Is the lyrical content of “Wolf Dick” a natural extension of someone who’s well versed in songs about semen staining mountain tops?

Brown: My Husband is a member of RPC. He made all of the music and directed, shot, and edited the video. While he’s introduced me to some of these E6 bands over the years, (we saw Jeff Mangum live last year), my lyrics are probably more inspired by Lil Kim or any number of those sexy ghetto jams us girls like to shake it to. I wouldn’t be surprised if my husband was channeling some rare Olivia Tremor Control B-side or something when he recorded the beat though. I know he used a rockband USB microphone to record everything. I told him I wanted it to sound like “Timbaland doing Salt n Pepa”. Nailed it.

YDG: Is this not a response to Shakira’s “She Wolf”?

Brown: I wrote most of the lyrics before “She Wolf”, but I’ve definitely always felt psychically connected to Shakira, so maybe there is something to that.

YDG: Where was the video filmed?

Brown: It was filmed all over Echo Park in LA, where I currently live.

YDG: The cast of the video is a melting pot of multi-cultured video vixens.
I see you even let some white people into your posse.  Is this an
outgrowth of your inter-species activism?

Brown: Yes. I don’t see color, or species. All beings are equal to me. All of the babes in the video are my friends and awesome for shakin what they got!
cooter-posse
YDG:  At one point, you get rather territorial and strike one of your
friends as a warning to stay away from your man.  Do you think it’s
hypocritical to pen an ode praising your man’s strong points and not
expect people to get curious and want a taste?

Brown: You right. You right. But to be fair, I did warn her that “if you call him again I’m gonna hit you a lot” so it’s that bitch’s fault, you know?!

YDG: Is it true that there’s talk of Duran Duran doing “Hungry Like The Wolf Dick”?

Brown: Yes. One of the Durans has approached me about this. I’m not sure which one I spoke to though. I never could tell those Durans apart.

YDG:  We’ve heard that interest in the public breast feeding and
circumcision debates have sharply declined in the last few days. How
do you feel about pregnant rapping being the new hot button topic in
the newborn world?

Brown: I guess it was bound to happen right? Based on some of the YouTube comments I’ve read, pregnant rapping really does strike a chord with trolls everywhere. But that’s okay because I like trolls, especially treasure trolls.

YDG: Is there a press term for the pregnant rap movement yet?

Brown: Well, I’m not even sure if we could call it a full blown movement yet. M.I.A. tried to kick it off with her 2009 Grammys performance, on her due date. We shot the video 3 days before I gave birth. I guess the reason the movement isn’t really taking off, is that the key players keep giving birth. I would need to get pregnant again before I could do the movement much good. But I’ve heard the movement referred to as “Utero Beat”

YDG: I see people are already wondering if your pregnant belly is fake. Can we post a picture of you and your fake newborn?

Brown: Sure thing! And if you’re wondering if he inherited his daddy’s wolf dick, he did.hanah-n-bebe
YDG:  What’s next for Cooter Brown?  How can you possibly top this masterpiece?

Brown: I’ve got another jam in the works. I think it’s gonna be called, “How To Be A Slut”, so keep a lookout for that sometime, IN THE FUTURE!

Leave a Reply

