TOP 81-91 91X ACTS OF ALL-TIME

XXX-logotop-5-logo

howard jones91. HOWARD JONES 28. New Song, 15. I’d Like to Get to Know You Well, 10. What is Love (84), 55. Life In One Day , 42. Thing Only Get Better (85), 77. You Know I Love You (86) 325points/6songs

big audio dyn

Above photo from first ever BAD photo session in 1984 by Josh Cheuse. This is possibly the only instance of me combining bands in the countodwn because he didn’t REALLY need a name change with B.A.D.II and Big Audio. Sorry, Mick. If you’re curious where they’d be separately, Big Audio Dyamite #194 (4 songs/159 points) and BAD2 #190 (2 songs/168 points). The first album is an ahead-of-its-time masterpiece. I saw the latter lineup headline an indoor mall for a fantastic Live 105 show called Yam Jam with Rancid, Frank Black, Frente & Adam Ant.

90.  BIG AUDIO DYNAMITE. The band had six songs in the San Diego station’s year-end countdowns: 43. Bottom Line (85), 70. Come on Every Beatbox 56. Medicine Snow 40. E=MC2 (86) 9. The Globe & 7. Rush (91).  327points/6songs

I don't know why John started playing "Santa Monica" in our Rookie Card rehearsals but we loved jumping around yelling "WOOO!" and "YEAH!!!".

I don’t know why John started playing “Santa Monica” in our Rookie Card rehearsals but we loved jumping around yelling “WOOO!” and “YEAH!!!”.

#89 91X ACT OF ALL-TIME: EVERCLEAR. The band had seven songs in the San Diego station’s year-end countdowns: 58. Santa Monica (95) 21. Everything to Everyone (97) 36. I Will Buy You A New Life 11. Father Of Mine (98) 75. AM Radio 29. Wonderful (00) & 85. When It All Goes Wrong Again (01). 329points/7songs

 I only saw them once, at DNA in SF when they were first coming up. They had enough of a buzz to fill the club but couldn't have sounded more generic. My roommate's band Tucker played last, after them and because it was a weeknight, most everyone left. The ones that stayed were blown away. A young Bill Graham Presents employee asked to manage them afterwards. I can still see the "3EB" (hi Daye!) singer standing with his back turned to the stage while Tucker played, talking to someone and then walking in front of them over and over pretending to look for someone. Whadda rockstar. I'm sure he's more down to earth now that he's famous. Listen to this Redd Kross album instead. You'll thank me later.

I only saw them once, at DNA in SF when they were first coming up. They had enough of a buzz to fill the club but couldn’t have sounded more generic. My roommate’s band Tucker played last, after them and because it was a weeknight, most everyone left. The ones that stayed were blown away. A young Bill Graham Presents employee asked to manage them afterwards. I can still see the “3EB” (hi Daye!) singer standing with his back turned to the stage while Tucker played, talking to someone and then walking in front of them over and over pretending to look for someone. Whadda rockstar. I’m sure he’s more down to earth now that he’s famous. Listen to this Redd Kross album instead. You’ll thank me later.

88. THIRD EYE BLIND. 66. How’s It Going To Be 10. Semi-Charmed Life (97) 60. Losing A Whole Year 32. Jumper (98) & 54. Never Let You Go (00). 330points/5songs

Ah, the most pretentious band ever. Was "The Dolphin's Cry" not from a Saturday Night Live sketch about over-earnest poetry? I saw them on one of their first tours (see comment below) and was surprised how tribaly and cool the band sounded. I was not surprised that I could barely stand to look at a singer that serious. Another reason to hate them? Try finding photos of a band called Live. Iggy came in at #141 on the countdown, by the way.

Ah, the most pretentious band ever. Was “The Dolphin’s Cry” not from a Saturday Night Live sketch about over-earnest poetry? I saw them on one of their first tours and was surprised how tribaly and cool the band sounded. I was not surprised that I could barely stand to look at a singer that serious. Another reason to hate them? Try finding photos of a band called Live. Iggy came in at #141 on the countdown, by the way.

#87 91X ACT OF ALL-TIME: LIVE. The band had seven songs in the San Diego station’s year-end countdowns:28. Selling the Drama 12. I Alone (94) 89. I Alone 70. All Over You 7. Lighting Crashes (95) 42. The Dolphin’s Cry (99) 90. Simple Creed (01) & 68. Heaven (03). 330points/8songs

 I spied them from across a far field and joked aloud "SOMEONE wants to be Tool."  Little did I know.  I saw them name Lloyd Cole & The Commotions as an influence once, so there's that.

I spied them from across a far field and joked aloud “SOMEONE wants to be Tool.” Little did I know. I saw them name Lloyd Cole & The Commotions as an influence once, so there’s that.

86. A PERFECT CIRCLE.  11. Judith 3. Three Libras (00)  53. The Hollow (01) 19. Weak and Powerless (03) & 36. The Outsider (04).  338points/5songs

This has to be the strangest set of songs on the list and a fun sign at what alt-radio has become. When "Time To Pretend" hit the airwaves in 2008, it became the most overplayed song I never got sick of. The album was great and "Kids" was an obvious future hit. I'd play it when I DJ'd and always get people asking who it was. When they closed with it at FM94/9's big summer concert, the entire stadium was nodding its head and dancing. I'd ask radio friends when they were going to add it but they weren't even done pushing the first single. The Prince-tastic "Electric Feel" became a hit near the end of 2008 and radio was still playing them both enough the following year that the two songs charted again. I didn't think they could overplay a song more but they outdid themselves with "Kids", which I did get sick of. Three songs charting six times over three calendar years. Followed by a 60's psych record without a ton of hooks! Good for them.

This has to be the strangest set of songs on the list and a fun sign at what alt-radio has become. When “Time To Pretend” hit the airwaves in 2008, it became the most overplayed song I never got sick of. The album was great and “Kids” was an obvious future hit. I’d play it when I DJ’d and always get people asking who it was. When they closed with it at FM94/9’s big summer concert, the entire stadium was nodding its head and dancing. I’d ask radio friends when they were going to add it but they weren’t even done pushing the first single. The Prince-tastic “Electric Feel” became a hit near the end of 2008 and radio was still playing them both enough the following year that the two songs charted again. I didn’t think they could overplay a song more but they outdid themselves with “Kids”, which I did get sick of. Three songs charting six times over three calendar years. Followed by a 60’s psych record without a ton of hooks! Good for them.

85. MGMT 24. Time To Pretend 9.   Electric Feel (08) 80. Time to Pretend 58. Electric Feel 2. Kids (09) 39. Kids (10) 340points/6songs

I only saw San Diego's most famous ska exports a couple of times back in the day.  Once was at Street Scene and the other was at a huge Casbah Halloween show where they jumped onstage dressed as Rocket From The Crypt with matching shirts and Elvis wigs, right before RFTC played.  Fantastic. Are there pictures?!  Years later, I became friends with Scott Kennerly, the guy who started the band (Reader ad stylee).  By then, he was fronting a great REM/Jayhawks influenced band called Plural with longtime $1.09 drummer Jeff Hawthorne.  Rookie Card was like a brother band so we played shows together and sang on each others records.  I mentioned wanting to play the whole first Specials record someday and Jeff would insist that I was not allowed to do it unless he played drums.  YEARS later we put it together and almost everyone in Buck 09 was going to be part of it at some point.  In the end, Scott, Jeff and saxophonist Craig Yarnold were in, with bassist Andy Platfoot filming us for posterity. We only did one real show but Buck O Nine rolls on. They played 91X's 30th anniversary show at House of Blues and stole the show.  I should know.  I caught the last song and a half!

I only saw San Diego’s most famous ska exports a couple of times back in the day. Once was at Street Scene and the other was at a huge Casbah Halloween show where they jumped onstage dressed as Rocket From The Crypt with matching shirts and Elvis wigs, right before RFTC played. Fantastic. Are there pictures?! Years later, I became friends with Scott Kennerly, the guy who started the band (Reader ad stylee). By then, he was fronting a great REM/Jayhawks influenced band called Plural with longtime $1.09 drummer Jeff Hawthorne. Rookie Card was like a brother band so we played shows together and sang on each others records. I mentioned wanting to play the whole first Specials record someday and Jeff would insist that I was not allowed to do it unless he played drums. YEARS later we put it together and almost everyone in Buck 09 was going to be part of it at some point. In the end, Scott, Jeff and saxophonist Craig Yarnold were in, with bassist Andy Platfoot filming us for posterity. We only did one real show but Buck O Nine rolls on. They played 91X’s 30th anniversary show at House of Blues and stole the show. I should know. I caught the last song and a half!

84. BUCK O NINE 63. Few Too Many (95) 27. Water In My Head (96) 72. Round Kid 51. Jennifer’s Cold  12. My Town (97) 73. Pass the Dutchie (98) 54. Who Are They  44. Tell It Like It Was (99)  340/8

Holy timing!  What a day to announce the Pope-hater made the countdown! This picture was taken on Halloween 1992, just a few weeks after her famous SNL acapella reggae paper shredder sketch. I had to work late and didn't have time to put together my girlfriend's part of our costume, so she ended up looking like an Eggman from Magical Mystery Tour. She was a good sport to wear it in public but it didn't end up mattering much.  We were the only people at the party who weren't hearing impaired and CSUN's deaf community were not too hip to the goings on of popular Irish singers.  Hopefully it's funnier 21 years later.

Holy timing! What a day to announce the Pope-hater made the countdown! This picture was taken on Halloween 1992, just a few weeks after her famous SNL acapella reggae paper shredder sketch. I had to work late and didn’t have time to put together my girlfriend’s part of our costume, so she ended up looking like an Eggman from Magical Mystery Tour. She was a good sport to wear it in public but it didn’t end up mattering much. We were the only people at the party who weren’t hearing impaired and CSUN’s deaf community were not too hip to the goings on of popular Irish singers. Hopefully it’s funnier 21 years later.

83.  SINEAD O’CONNOR.  85. Heroine w/The Edge (87), 59. Jump in the River  29. Put Your Hands On Me 27. Mandinka (88) , 70. Kingdom of Rain  (w/The The)(89) 23. Emperor’s New Clothes 11. Nothing Compares to You (90) 91. Fire on Babylon (94). 341/8

With David J relocating to our fair city, sightings were common and nothing but "nice guy" stories ensued. He even called my girlfriend when she was sick in the hospital and sang her Spice Girls' "Wannabe". Their first show back after years away was 91X's 1995 Xmas show with that other Rocket band on the bill (flyer? anyone?). Mr Haskins was nice enough to play one of M-Theory's first acoustic shows and even posed with the Chin Music Magazine shirt I gave him with the genius Bauhaus logo. His finest San Diego moment came when he showed up to see Gary Shuffler's Bauhaus tribute at the Casbah. I asked him beforehand if he'd ever seen one before and he said that they were in Japan once and all went to see a great Bauhaus tribute but the band never knew! When "Bela" came on, he tapped Mitch Wilson on the shoulder and got up to play it with them. When I told him afterwards he was a good sport for doing it, he said "and YOU are a Fookin' Wanker!" (my then-Oasis parody) and walked away, leaving my jaw on the ground.

With David J relocating to our fair city, sightings were common and nothing but “nice guy” stories ensued. He even called my girlfriend when she was sick in the hospital and sang her Spice Girls’ “Wannabe”. Their first show back after years away was 91X’s 1995 Xmas show with that other Rocket band on the bill (flyer? anyone?). Mr Haskins was nice enough to play one of M-Theory’s first acoustic shows and even posed with the Chin Music Magazine shirt I gave him with the genius Bauhaus logo. His finest San Diego moment came when he showed up to see Gary Shuffler’s Bauhaus tribute at the Casbah. I asked him beforehand if he’d ever seen one before and he said that they were in Japan once and all went to see a great Bauhaus tribute but the band never knew! When “Bela” came on, he tapped Mitch Wilson on the shoulder and got up to play it with them. When I told him afterwards he was a good sport for doing it, he said “and YOU are a Fookin’ Wanker!” (my then-Oasis parody) and walked away, leaving my jaw on the ground.

82. LOVE AND ROCKETS 64.  Ball Of Confusion (85), 64. Kundalini Express (86) 63. All in my mind  16. No New Tale to Tell (87) 82. Motorcycle 22. No Big Deal  10. So Alive (89) 72. Sweet Lover Hangover (96) 343/8

They are the first act in the top 91 with a #1 song and maybe the only act in the countdown to have a #91 song too. It's definitely the only #1 song I'd never heard of. Guess I wasn't listening to much radio in 2008....or smoking much pot. Because I actually did all the countdown math last year, we have the technology to know that they are one of only two new acts in the top 91. They played 91X's 30th anniversary show at House of Blues and the best moment of the night was when Halloran tried to get him to say "Slightly Stoopid", who he'd obviously never heard of. He eventually got the crowd to say "Flavor FLAAAAAV" instead and hilariously said,well, just watch the video in the comments. Karl Denson tapped their horn guys to play the Beastie Boys in a tribute set last year and even though I can safely say that Geezer still does it better, their Adrock probably did the Horowitz voice better than me. Jerk.

They are the first act in the top 91 with a #1 song and maybe the only act in the countdown to have a #91 song too. It’s definitely the only #1 song I’d never heard of. Guess I wasn’t listening to much radio in 2008….or smoking much pot. Because I actually did all the countdown math last year, we have the technology to know that they are one of only two new acts in the top 91. They played 91X’s 30th anniversary show at House of Blues and the best moment of the night was when Halloran tried to get him to say “Slightly Stoopid”, who he’d obviously never heard of. He eventually got the crowd to say “Flavor FLAAAAAV” instead and hilariously said,well, just watch the video in the comments. Karl Denson tapped their horn guys to play the Beastie Boys in a tribute set last year and even though I can safely say that Geezer still does it better, their Adrock probably did the Horowitz voice better than me. Jerk.

81. SLIGHTLY STOOPID 91. Sweet Honey, 87.  Officer (03) 16.   I Would Do For You 1. 2AM (08) 67. 2 AM  45.   I Would Do For You (09), 70. Don’t Stop, 10. Top Of The World (12) 349/8

GEEK NOTES
A couple of streaks: Sinead (4 years 1987-90) & Buck09 (5 years, 1995-99)
No one with four or more songs in one year.

ON TO #71-80
Check back here to keep up with the countdown or just “like” our Facebook page to see one act a day announced!
BACK TO THE MAIN XXX PAGEXXX-logo

2 thoughts on “TOP 81-91 91X ACTS OF ALL-TIME

  1. Pingback: XXX: Thirty Years of 91X Year End Countdowns becomes The Top 888 Modern Rock Acts of All-Time | "Yer doin' great." (a muzak clickclack)

  2. Pingback: TOP 92-100 91X BANDS OF ALL-TIME (missed it by THAT much) | "Yer doin' great." (a muzak clickclack)

Leave a Reply

