91X, 1984 & ME

XXX-logo

1984 Top 91 countdown from January 1985 edition of 91X's magazine, the X.

1984 Top 91 countdown from January 1985 edition of 91X’s magazine, the X. What’s your biggest/least fave? I’m going with My Ever Changing Moods/Wild Boys.

page11984 was the year I became a man. Well, I had a bar mitzvah.  That hardly constituted manhood. I did get my first girlfriend, the lovely Andrea Musicant, while at summer camp. To her credit, she didn’t bring me into manhood either. She did, however, accompany me to one life-changing event, though: my first real concert. Leaving an Oingo Boingo show at the Del Mar Fair after a few songs didn’t really count but going to see the Gogo’s and the Cars definitely did.cars-drawing

84cars

u2

By 1984, I’d made the conversion to 91X’s Rock of the 80’s format and dove in head first.  Suddenly I was drawing British post-punk types instead of Def Leppard all over everything. I’m not sure when it happened but it had to be before going on vacation with my family to Yosemite that summer. I was on headphones the entire time listening to a tape of U2’s Under A Blood Red Sky plus Jimmy The Hoover’s “Tantalize”, Tears For Fears “The Way You Are“, Cutting Edge’s “Lonesome Cowboy” and other songs I taped off of 91X.

That NYE, some of us eighth graders stayed up late at Chris Lehr’s house, right around the corner from me. The Lehr house was a second home for a lot of kids. I’d consumed a lot of Pepsis, played a lot of foosball and watched my first R-Rated movie (Hollywood Knights) there.  Chris was one of my few friends who didn’t go nuts for new wave, still clinging tightly to his Billy Joel and Huey Lewis albums.  Still he tolerated me wanting to listen to 91X’s entire countdown in between watching MTV’s New Years telecast. I don’t know how they had an electric air raid siren but I’m sure their neighbors appreciated it at midnight.

One night, a few years ago, we were at the end of a Musical Pursuit, Cover Me Badd’s long-running music trivia night. The quizzes always ended with one super-hard question worth five big points. There were always people at the Whistle Stop there just to have a drink, not compete.  So, I made sure to remind everyone on the mic that these people were playing for as much as $400 and if they shouted out an answer, they’d either have their drink taken away or poured on them.  Their choice.  That night, the question was simply “What song that Mick Jones played guitar on was once #1 on 91X’s year end countdown?”  A guy who was standing nearby but not playing said, “What year was it?!”  I figured that no one could be nerdy enough to be able to guess it from that so I said, “1984.”  He started jumping up and down, yelling, “‘TENDERNESS’!  ‘TENDERNESS’!”.  Then, knowing what he’d done, immediately ran out of the bar. Usually the players went insane if anyone let an answer slip but it was too hysterical for anyone to get mad.
84-bands

new-wave-band-drawerings
UPDATE
Emptying an old file cabinet, I found a few more fun things I probably did around this time…

This is a hilariously random collection of logos that has everyone from my Dad (upper left) to General Public-era Ranking Roger in it.  David Byrne in the big suit!

This is a hilariously random collection of logos that has everyone from my Dad (upper left) to General Public-era Ranking Roger in it. David Byrne in the big suit!

This was my stereo in 1984 before I got a fancy looking cheap one for my bar mitzvah that broke at the afterparty. I spy U2 and X's "Wild Thing" 12" in the record racks. There's my 45's holder, dual tape deck and receiver (tuned to 91X, of course).

This was my stereo in 1984 before I got a fancy looking cheap one for my bar mitzvah that broke at the afterparty. I spy U2 and X’s “Wild Thing” 12″ in the record racks. There’s my 45’s holder, dual tape deck and receiver (tuned to 91X, of course).

ttwins

This looks to be the band logo as seen on every 45 and album I owned in 1984 except that I don't ever remember owning an Eagles record. I'm guessing Joe Walsh snuck in and left it there.

This looks to be the band logo as seen on every 45 and album I owned in 1984 except that I don’t ever remember owning an Eagles record. I’m guessing Joe Walsh snuck in and left it there.

91X's second local compilation, 1984's Local Heroes.

91X’s second local compilation, 1984’s Local Heroes.

SIDE ONE: You’ll Always Be There (The Reading) (Glory House), Empty Pockets (The Fendants), Massive Doses (Laws Of Motion), Distant Memories (Shades Of May), Ain’t Got Nobody (Mojo Nixon With Skid Roper). SIDE TWO: Purple Heart (Marty Eldridge), In A Daydream (The Neat), Pictures Of Age (Playground Slap), Lost Weekend / Happy Boy (Live)(Beat Farmers)

ON TO 1985
BACK TO THE MAIN XXX PAGE

XXX-logo

4 thoughts on “91X, 1984 & ME

  1. Pingback: 91X, 1983 & ME | "Yer doin' great." (a muzak clickclack)

  2. Pingback: XXX: Thirty Years of 91X Year End Countdowns becomes The Top 888 Modern Rock Acts of All-Time | "Yer doin' great." (a muzak clickclack)

Leave a Reply

