ABC’S OF ROCK: Way To B, the best of the second letter

 If you’re like me, you have more B and S in your music stacks than any other letter (insert dumb b.s. joke here). Just always ends up that way. When I was posting a little something on Facebook every time I’d bring a new group into work, people couldn’t believe how many months it took me to get me through all of them….

B SHELF
Bad Credit (there I said it), Barenaked Ladies (first album still has its moments), Bartenders Bible, Baseball Project, Bash & Pop, Beach Boys, Beachwood Sparks, Beastie Boys, Beatles, Beatnik Beatch, Beautiful South, Beck, Bee Gees, Bel Biv Devoe, Chris Bell, Belle & Sebastian, Ben Folds Five, Pat Benatar, the Bens, Brendan Benson, Chuck Berry, Beta Band, Bette Berveert, Beulah, B-52’s, Big Audio Dyanmite, Big Daddy, Big Star, Andrew Bird, Billy Midnight, Bjork, Black Crowes, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Black Sabbath, Blind Melon, Blondie, Colin Blunstone, Bluh, Geoff Bock, Boo Radleys, Boomtown Rats, Bosom Of The Urgent West, Botticellis, Bow Wow Wow, David Bowie, Boxtops, Breeders, Jon Brion, Tom Brosseau, Brothers And Sisters, James Brown, Hugh Brown Shu, Jeff Buckley, Buffalo Springfield, Built To Spill, Bunky, Kate Bush (thought someone hacked into the blog before I realized I accidentally didn’t type “Kate”), Butter 08, Buzzcocks & Byrds. FAVE FIVE B’S
Probably Beatles, Beasties, Big Star, Bluh, Billy Midnight. That’s a tough one. Probably the toughest.
WAY TO B: BEST OF THE LETTER B
#1 FAVE: SPICKS AND SPECKS BY THE BEE GEES
Easily the best thing I got from my parents’ records. Their first hit single.  All downhill from here.

The Bangles-Want You
Beastie Boys-Shake Your Rumpa
The Beatles-I’ve Got A Feeling (Apple Studios outtake Day 16 January 27, 1969)
Bee Gees-Spicks & Specks
Ben Folds Five-She Don’t Use Jelly
Brendan Benson-Emma J
Beta Band-Dry The Rain
Big Country-Fields Of Fire
Big Star-O My Soul
Blind Faith-Can’t Find My Way Home
Blind Melon-Galaxie
Blue Bottle-Dot Calm
Blur-You’re So Great
Boo Radleys-Wish I Was Skinny
Booker T & The MG’s-Green Onions
Boomtown Rats-Rain
Boticellis-Killing Spree
Built To Spill-Else
Bunky-Baba
Butter08-Butterfucker
(Beatles, Blue Bottle & “Rain” not on Spotify) The best part about making these mixes, is looking around for B songs I love that I don’t own. For the first few letters I did this, I only used what I had so it was fun finding a few B’s I love to replace a few songs on the original mix…. and one new fave since I first made this mix a few years ago….

YER FAVORITE B’S

YER FAVORITE B ACTS
1. Beatles (16)
2. Big Star (7)
3. Beach Boys (6)
David Bowie (6)
5. Bauhaus (5)
Beastie Boys (5)
7. Badfinger (4)
Beck (4)
Black Sabbath (4)
The Buzzcocks (4)
The Byrds (4)
YER FAVORITE SONGS BY B’S
Bloodhound Gang-Mope
Big Bad Buffalo-Soccer Mama
Buckley, Tim-Dolphins
Beach Boys-Lonely Sea
Built To Spill-Car
Blasters-Marie Marie
Black Crowes-Wiser Time
Badfinger-No Matter What
Bangles-Mary Street
Boston-Something About You
Broadcast-Come On Let’s Go
Big Star-Back Of A Car
Beetles-Letter B
Beach Boys-In My Room
Blue Oyster Cult-Then Came the Last Days of May
Buzzcocks-Ever Fallen In Love
Buffalo Springfield-Go and Say Goodbye
Bobby Blue Bland-Ain’t No Love In The Heart of the City
Blasters-Border Radio
Big Audio Dynamite-E=MC2
Big Star-Ballad of El Goodo
Beach Boys-God Only Knows
Bunky-Funny Like The Moon plus The Buggaloos theme (CONTEST WINNER CHRIS BRAUN), Tomorrow Never Knows & In My Life (the Beatles) (not on Spotify) Thanks to everyone who voted.  You can still submit your top five B’s and favorite song in the comments.

BACK TO THE MAIN ABC’S OF ROCK PAGE ABC-ROCK-banner

One thought on “ABC’S OF ROCK: Way To B, the best of the second letter

Leave a Reply

